We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poplar food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop

Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop
Hall Lane Shincliffe Village, Durham DH1 2NG, England
0191 3847553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 shopping in Durham
Type: Specialty Shops, Shops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Florist in Shincliffe, County Durham have been helping people from all over the UK get the best from their gardens for over 40 years. We pride ourselves on taking as much care with our customer as they do with their gardens and strive to be a friendly and helpful at all times.Poplar Tree Garden Centre Durham staff carry a comprehensive level of knowledge and expertise that is sure to answer even the most difficult of questions. Please don't be shy in approaching them as they are ready and waiting to assist at all times.Poplar Tree Garden Centre, Florist, Coffee Shop & Food Hall all under ONE roof!
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“poplar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

lovely surrounds value for money good food excellent choice
friendly staff

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Manager at Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

It's always such a pleasure to read lovely comments about your visit to Brambles.

We proudly display our recent Taste of Durham '5 Star' awarded champion status based on our menu and quality of food, as well as the comfort and cleanliness of our establishment.

Since you wrote your review, I'm not sure if you are aware - we have recently extended the existing Brambles Coffee Shop. We can now seat up to 300 people overall and we have a secluded area for Afternoon Tea dining. It's definitely worth a re-vist.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Caroline Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More gift shop that garden centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I sometimes visit Poplar Tree. I have to say it feels like one of those centres where they would get a fright if yu asked about plants! I use it to buy nice gifts (you know the sort... wind chimes, panpipe CDs, china mugs, chintzy ornaments etc) and it is a good size with a decent range.
They also have an average coffee shop and a good range of water/pond stuff.
Apart from that I am afraid it is rather average. As I said, a good place near Durham City to get your gifts and park for nowt but its a shame it does not feel as though it has any expertise in plants or gardens?!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Manager at Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate it!

I'm very sorry to hear that you do not believe that our employee's plant knowledge is not as good as expected.

Poplar Tree Garden Centre has undergone a radical transformation recently; plants and gardening have been firmly reinstated at the heart of the business, the centre itself has been much improved and its local credentials have been greatly reinforced.

I firmly believe that impeccable horticultural standards and highly knowledgeable staff who are passionate about gardening are the key ingredients at Poplar Tree & I am sorry that you did not experiance this service when you visited last year.

We always try to warmly welcome our customers and we appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoy shopping within the excellent range of giftware and cards.

We hope you return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Caroline Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Very relaxing surroundings for a coffee. A tad pricey, but worth it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Manager at Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate it!

Glad you enjoyed the experiance within the Coffee Shop, I agree, the picturesque & peaceful surroundings are wonderful and it can be so diseaving that such a peaceful place can be situated within only a few miles outside of the City Centre of Durham.

We hope to see you return very soon.

Kind Regards,

Caroline Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cafe is very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Reasonable prices for a wide variety of food and drink in very nice surroundings, I love sitting here with the kids while the husband walks round the garden centre!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Manager at Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

It's always such a pleasure to read lovely comments about your visit to Brambles.

We proudly display our recent Taste of Durham '5 Star' awarded champion status based on our menu and quality of food, as well as the comfort and cleanliness of our establishment.

Since you wrote your review, I'm not sure if you are aware - we have recently extended the existing Brambles Coffee Shop. We can now seat up to 300 people overall and we have a secluded area for Afternoon Tea dining. It's definitely worth a re-vist.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Caroline Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, decent garden centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Brambles itself is inside a garden centre. The garden centre is pretty good but the best thing about it is the coffee shop. Its an absolute find! Great food, very good value and a lovely place to sit and relax in the summer. Its always busy which is a good sign and it never lets you down. I can personally recommend the corned beef pie or quiche which I have sampled many times! Worth a visit but it is a short (5 mins) drive outside of Durham in a place called old Shincliffe.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Manager at Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

It's always such a pleasure to read lovely comments about your visit to Brambles.

We proudly display our recent Taste of Durham '5 Star' awarded champion status based on our menu and quality of food, as well as the comfort and cleanliness of our establishment.

Since you wrote your review, I'm not sure if you are aware - we have recently extended the existing Brambles Coffee Shop. We can now seat up to 300 people overall and we have a secluded area for Afternoon Tea dining. It's definitely worth a re-vist.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Caroline Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poplar Tree Garden Centre & Coffee Shop to your Saves list