We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was disgusted by my stay at the shoes gilesgate” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Shoes

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shoes
Save
You added The Shoes to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Sunderland Road | Gilesgate, Durham DH1 2JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Durham B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I was disgusted by my stay at the shoes gilesgate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have never been more disgusted in all my life what an ignorant owner of a pub we were there for nearly half a day before he even spoke and when he did it was too look down his nose at us the rooms were very dated and in need of a major revamp it looks as if it has never had a lick of paint in five years. the female staff were very polite and the food was lovely but i wouldn't stay there again just through the pure ignorance of the owner

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at The Shoes recently with my sons whilst in Durham for a family wedding. The rooms were very clean, stylish and comfortable, with spacious en-suite shower rooms, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. There was no problem leaving our luggage on arrival as we dashed off to our wedding and the bags were waiting in our rooms when we chose to turn in for the night. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A lovely stay, all topped off by a delicious cooked breakfast (especially the crispy bacon!) We would recommend The Shoes to any visitor to Durham!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

just had a weekend in durham stayed at the shoes on sunderland road rooms were all clean dry warm just what you need at this time of the year. nothing was to much trouble for billy and the staff. food was good. service was good

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

good location, very clean good breakfast and a nice city

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a lovely little public house offering clean, comfortable and easy access to Durham town centre, a pleasant 15 minutes walk down hill or jumping a number 20 bus for £1.30 only two stops or taxi £4. What excellent value for money and a super full english breakfast included in the costs. The simple easy come easy go - nothing a problem attitude from Billy is both relaxed and very welcoming, yet the attention to detail in the room makes this wonderful value for money. We will definately return and next time try out the bar menu!

Room Tip: Only three so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the shoes for two nights while visiting Durham which is a twenty miniute walk away. The rooms are excellent value for money, and a great breakfast the following morning.
The staff were most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Comfortable B&B accommodation conveniently situated for Durham City - 20 mins walk or buses every 5 mins or so. Very friendly owners and staff. Well-kept real ale in the bar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoes

Address: 16 Sunderland Road | Gilesgate, Durham DH1 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shoes 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.