We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and have had varied experiences, most of them OK. However, my most recent stay was not great.
The staff are always friendly and helpful and the hotel is very convenient for the town centre and Gala centre but they really need to up their game if they want to compete with the local low cost hotels.
To reiterate the gripes of other guests .... the bath water was always lukewarm, the bed was hard with very basic bedding, breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning was a scrum. We were told to find ourselves a table ... easier said than done to find one that had been cleared. We ate in the Felini restaurant one evening. My daughter said her beef was good but my seafood risotto was almost devoid of seafood. I had the seafood linguine at Ask across the road in the Gala centre the following night for the same price. It was packed with shellfish. Trays being left in the corridor for hours was an issue all weekend; other guest's leftover curry is never a nice sight in the morning. There was one lift working all the time.
The room was hot and the air con not working but, if the windows were opened, you got the noise from weekend revellers and boy racers plus the construction site across the road.
I have stayed here many times but I am sad to say I would seriously consider going elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    494
    146
    50
    26
See reviews for
168
610
49
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here during the Lumiere and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room, facing the river and cathedral, was large and the bed comfortable. We didn't have the breakfast package as there are plenty of cheaper and better places to eat in the city. We didn't need wi-fi and we had plenty of hot water (see other reviewers) so no complaints on that score. However, one of the lifts didn't always work very well (only two lifts) and there is a £7 charge for car parking, a not unreasonable charge so close to the centre. Overall a decent hotel but slightly too expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed overnight during Luminaire and although the hotel was busy we found both check in and check out fast and efficient with friendly and inquiring staff.
I had upgraded to a river view room and had a smashing panoramic window overlooking the Wear and Cathedral.
Breakfast was a bit confusing having to order coffee and eggs but at least they arrived fresh and my poached eggs were runny and not overcooked. The rest of the breakfast is buffet style with ample choice of fruit, cereals and the usual cooked breakfast fare.
Parking was easy and £7 for overnight (24 hrs) payable in reception gave us plenty of time to have a riverside walk before our 12:00 checkout.
The rooms were very clean with some nice toiletries for the missus. LOL I had no problem with hot water that other reviewers have mentioned.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a river view and a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here during the Lumiere festival, and like other reviewers have noted, it became very apparent that the hotel facilities and services were unable to cope with being fully booked. For the royal price of a "Business class" room, wi fi access was terrible (reason given: too many people trying to access the network), there was no hot water when showering after breakfast (reason given: too many people using the water - you get the picture). Final straw, being overcharged on check out for an additional bed that wasn't requested or used, after asking the cashier to check that the item had been removed and being assured it had. I emailed the hotel that evening to ask for a correction. Has anyone bothered to reply, after two days? Of course not. This was our second stay, needless to say, it will be our last. Oh, and the beds are really hard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Understandably it was difficult finding accommodation during the lumiere festival. Knowing the city well, I would have liked to have stayed at the County or one of the many lovely b&bs in the area but seemed only one room was available in the whole of Durham.....
For £179 (no breakfast inc.) I imagined at least a view & maybe a bath tub.
Having called the day before to check the bar showed the rugby for my partner, we went straight there to check in as opposed to a nice city pub as I needed to sleep & my partner could watch his sport if he wished - on informing the staff the tv was on the wrong channel numerous times, it took 45 minutes for 'maintenence'
to change the channel so it could stream into the room.
They hadn't informed us on booking that we would be in an 'accessible' room - no tub just lots of handles in showers, pads on loo etc which failed to seem luxe considering the price we'd paid for what really was nothing better than a travel lodge. The room looked over the back carpark into the passport offices, the bed had an oversized vallance which was falling off, the sheets were untucked which I remade before bed.
It was clean but basic. Ironing board was broken so took two of us to iron a small top - one as board prop.
Equally amusing was the question of our morning newspapers, when on indecision the reception staff said she would send both....no newspapers to be seen the following morning.
Needing a drink to stop me from crying, I took to the mini-bar....unstocked, empty, sin beverages!
Thank you Radisson for our horrid stay. Luckily Lumiere was incredible & we will be returning for the next one but definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

How can you not instal a boiler to cope with full occupancy? When a hotel can not provide a basic service such as hot water for a shower in the morning it ceases to function as a viable place to stay.

And WiFi (free) wouldn't let you connect as too many people were signed on. To be fair, it did become available as users dropped off.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night after our wedding and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. They let us check in early, gave us a free upgrade to business class and complimentary room service with desserts! Really close to city centre too. Only criticism would be the food in the restaurant. Not very good at all, no atmosphere. . I would find a nice restaurant in the city centre instead.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.