We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and have already recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oak Cottage to your Saves list
Oak Cottage
Holmside | Beamish, Durham DH7 6EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Durham B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning and have already recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Made to feel very welcome, we enjoyed the very spacious room. Quiet location, so a car is essential, but as many others have mentioned, the breakfast in the conservatory, watching a multitude of birds, was an absolute highlight. Mike & Kim are lovely and made us feel at ease and at home. We've already recommended it to the in-laws!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

we visited in Sept 2012, stayed just one night but wish it had been more. a quiet location, an absolutely beautiful room, friendly owners who are very helpful, lovely breakfast with a stunning view- will definately be back

Room Tip: there is only one room- which is beautiful. a wonderfully big bed with a small sitting room in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at Oak Cottage several times. Always a friendly welcome and a fantastic breakfast. My first choice for a stay in the North East. Only a few miles from motorway and attractions of Beamish Museum, Durham and Newcastle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, Stockport, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is without doubt one of the finest Bed and Breakfast establishments in the country, and we have stayed at many. Hosts, Kim and Mike are truly lovely as is the property. Lovely gardens full of wild life, beautiful breakfast, stunning room. Will be back on or next trip to Cragside and the North East. Mike is a mind of information on where to go and what to see. Really could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed overnight last Wednesday and this is the third time we have spent the night at this lovely place. We always get a lovely welcome from the owners and the breakfast is served in their lovely dining area overlooking their garden which is just beautiful and you can sit and enjoy watching the birds. We always have the full breakfast which is absolutely superb, and there is always home made jam and marmalade for your toast. The room is nice and spacious, as is the bathroom. A lovely, lovely place which we will continue to use in the future and would recommend this to anyone, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Oak Cottage is a lovely place to stay, we stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable. It is situated in a very small village therefore it is very quiet. As far as we are aware the nearest shop is about 1 mile away but larger shopping areas are a very easy 15 minute drive away - a car is essential.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, they are also excellent sources of local information. The room itself is very comfortable and spacious and as other reviewers comment, the birds in the garden are wonderful to watchn
We would happily go to Oak Cottage again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed 1 night in this lovely family home - very comfortable, very friendly, helpful owners with a wonderful view of woodpeckers and nut hatches plus all sorts of other birds feeding from the bird table as we sat having a lovely breakfast in the sun in the conservatory. Very handy for Durham.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cottage

Address: Holmside | Beamish, Durham DH7 6EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Double/Twin En-suite. Countryside location.Garden with many Wild Birds with direct access for lovely Woodland Walks. Easy reach for Beamish Museum, Durham, Newcastle/Gateshead & AIM. Major Credit Cards accepted. Local Inns and choice of Food all within easy reach. Car Parking on site. Welcome Hosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Oak Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.