We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carling did B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cottage
Holmside | Beamish, Durham DH7 6EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Durham B&B and Inns
Poynton, Stockport, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If Carling did B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is without doubt one of the finest Bed and Breakfast establishments in the country, and we have stayed at many. Hosts, Kim and Mike are truly lovely as is the property. Lovely gardens full of wild life, beautiful breakfast, stunning room. Will be back on or next trip to Cragside and the North East. Mike is a mind of information on where to go and what to see. Really could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed overnight last Wednesday and this is the third time we have spent the night at this lovely place. We always get a lovely welcome from the owners and the breakfast is served in their lovely dining area overlooking their garden which is just beautiful and you can sit and enjoy watching the birds. We always have the full breakfast which is absolutely superb, and there is always home made jam and marmalade for your toast. The room is nice and spacious, as is the bathroom. A lovely, lovely place which we will continue to use in the future and would recommend this to anyone, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Oak Cottage is a lovely place to stay, we stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable. It is situated in a very small village therefore it is very quiet. As far as we are aware the nearest shop is about 1 mile away but larger shopping areas are a very easy 15 minute drive away - a car is essential.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, they are also excellent sources of local information. The room itself is very comfortable and spacious and as other reviewers comment, the birds in the garden are wonderful to watchn
We would happily go to Oak Cottage again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed 1 night in this lovely family home - very comfortable, very friendly, helpful owners with a wonderful view of woodpeckers and nut hatches plus all sorts of other birds feeding from the bird table as we sat having a lovely breakfast in the sun in the conservatory. Very handy for Durham.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

A true gem. Lovely welcome, nice room with comfortable bed, superb breakfast and very cheap indeed. Furniture a little dated but at this price Oak Cottage is a real bargain find.

Very handy for Beamish, Durham etc - in fact, it is worth going out of your way to find this excellent small establishment.

We would most certainly stay here again and will not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

Thank you Mike and Kim.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days on our way North, having traveled from the South of England, up the East Coast staying at B&B's all the way and we can highly recommend Oak Cottage. It is spacious, immaculately clean has a wonderful conservatory with fabulous views of the bird life and forest, and a lovely garden area. Kim and Mike were extremely helpful, delightful to meet and we were sorry not to be there longer. It was no trouble traveling into Durham from there and nice to be in the countryside. Plus, a wonderful breakfast.
Marj & Terry Snoswell

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham,england
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We wanted to go Beamish Museum for our anniversary after looking at a couple of places we settled on the Oak Cottage and gave Kim & Mike a ring and are we glad we did,when we got there they showed us up to a lovely fair sized room,they recommend lots of places to visit nearby so we popped into Durham about 7 miles away,if you go to Beamish like we did they have a sheet with direction on that takes you right up to the gates.The breakfasts are taken looking out over their garden with all sorts of birds putting on a show for you while you eat.A big thankyou for 2 lovely nights,and we will be back when we are up that way again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cottage

Address: Holmside | Beamish, Durham DH7 6EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Double/Twin En-suite. Countryside location.Garden with many Wild Birds with direct access for lovely Woodland Walks. Easy reach for Beamish Museum, Durham, Newcastle/Gateshead & AIM. Major Credit Cards accepted. Local Inns and choice of Food all within easy reach. Car Parking on site. Welcome Hosts ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oak Cottage to your Saves list