We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Town House
Save
You added The Victorian Town House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Firstly, sorry for delay in posting this one. Had 4 nights with andy and jill while in durham for Ashes cricket test in August. If there was a living rule book on how to run a B&B, andy and jill would have written it. From clean modern facilities to great local tips to getting up early to make me a mobile breakfast for my early morning train trip back to London, I could not fault my stay here. Without a doubt, my best B&B experience ever!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
205
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It must be difficult to find a better B&B in Durham than this. Dropping our daughter off for University, we stayed overnight and were made most comfortable by Andy and Jill. Splendid room and excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire.uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here as my daughter was moving into Durham University, absolutely fabulous stay, best B&B we have ever stayed in. The owners (Andy and Jill) are so pleasant, and on arrival they brought cups of tea with delicious homemade cake to our room, it was the little touches like this that put this B&B above others. Breakfast was lovely, with fruit, fresh croissants and yoghurts etc and then delicious cooked options available too.
Room was very comfortable with tea and coffee facilities and biscuits
It is a very handy location for visiting the city, and close to the railway station as well. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Staying at the Victorian Town House was ideal for our visit to Durham recently for the Lindisfarne Gospels exhibition. The castle and cathedral are within walking distance as are various restaurants. Andy and Jill are charming, friendly people who make sure your stay is as comfortable and restful as possible. We can recommend the spacious stylish Beaumont room overlooking the garden and my husband was well impressed with the black pudding stack at breakfast! All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kriftel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A lovely room, lovely bed, lovely garden, lovely breakfast.
We enjoyed the hospitality and can recommend this B & B wholeheartedly.
About 20 mins. trek to Palace Green, a bit up and down, but a pleasant walk.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will satisfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of September to visit the exhibition of the Lindisfarne Gospels. The guest house is well situated near to both the station and the centre of Durham. It is very professionally run with attention to detail and nice touches to make the stay as comfortable as possible. The full English breakfast is of high quality. We would have no hesitation in returning on any future visit to Durham.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We often go to our favourite restaurant in Durham and get a taxi home at the end of the evening but as the weather was so favourable last month we decided to make it into a short break. We liked the reviews The Victorian Town House have had on this website so we chose to stay here for the night. Are we glad we did! We stayed in the Langley Room which was such a comfortable room and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was simply superb. We'd read some excellent reviews and agree wholeheartedly with all the positive comments written by others. We had such a laugh with Andy and Jill - they are so easy to get along with and brilliant hosts. This b&b is so centrally located to all the restaurants and bars in Durham and yet is set in a residential street away from traffic noise so you get the best of both worlds. I think the location of this b&b beats all the other b&bs in Durham so definitely book here. However you will need to book early as we only managed to get a booking at the last minute as they'd had a cancellation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Address: 2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Town House, renovated to a high standard, is set in the heart of the World Heritage site of Durham's majestic cathedral and castle. It is only a five-minute walk from train station and city centre. It holds four star accreditation with Gold Award from Visit Britain. In addition it holds a breakfast award and Taste Durham award indicating the quality of its breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. It provides stylish accommodation with panoramic views of Durham cathedral, castle and park. Twin, Family and Double rooms are available, providing luxury en-suite accommodation in a mixture of traditional elegance and contemporary style. Limited off-street parking is available. Wi-fi available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.