We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Town House
Save
You added The Victorian Town House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Durham B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had such a warm welcome here. We stayed in the Beaumont Room it was extremely comfortable, has a great outlook onto the garden and you can see the cathedral through the trees. Everything was spotlessly clean.Breakfast was great. Convenient for the city as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
195
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wharton, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent the nights of 18 & 19 May with Andy & Jill. The room and view were excellent. Our view included their meticulously manicured and landscaped back lawn and a view of Durham Cathedral through the trees. Everything was spotless and very well maintained. As is the case with most B&B's in the UK, we could have used a little more wardrobe space but considering the size of the room, what we had was fine. Andy was the perfect host and the breakfasts were wonderful. We would not hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What an absolute gem of a place. Located a mere 5 minutes walk from the railway station and into the town centre, the Victorian Townhouse is the place to stay if you are visiting Durham. Wonderful hospitality from Andy and Jill who make you feel extremely welcome. The room we stayed in was first class, beautiful bed with views over a well maintained and pretty garden. You can even catch a glimpse of the Cathedral towers from the windows. Breakfast was stunning, a fabulous selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, juices and including a excellent full English. My partners dietary requirements were catered for superbly and both Andy and Jill were happy to offer advice about places to visit and things to do. Will definitely be returning here and can highly recommend this for all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flambard room....superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent stay. I highly recommend the Beaumont Room. Nice view of the garden. Large room. Nice vanity. Good sized bath. Decent bed. Nice big windows.

Great food! I tried it all. Love the Full English, Black Pudding Stack, Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon and the Porridge with Whisky. Excellent! Right, I'm fearless. After reading all the comments about the food, I had to try it all. Even though we don't run into Black Pudding and Eggs with Salmon combo. Try it all. You'll like it!

Nice location. Close to the rail and bus stations. Walking distance to the town center is reasonable. But the walk back to the B&B is amazing! One steep incline! Even the English we passed remarked that it wasn't getting any easier 8^) Still, the climb is doable and helps to burn off the calories from all that great food!

If you can arrange it, they have one off-street parking space that works quite well. It is available on a first come, first served basis at reservation time I believe. Reserve early!

Jill and Andy are welcoming and helpful. Many thanks to Andy for the tea and biscuits upon our arrival!

Room Tip: Reserve early. Choose the Beaumont room for its size, garden view. Quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Beaumont room for one night (£90). The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with settee and view of the garden. We were welcomed with tea and cake. The breakfast was delicious and I especially liked the lightly poached plums. A short walk to the city. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

You will not be disappointed if you manage to stay here. Andy & Jill are superb lovely hosts and the perfect demonstration of fantastic hospitality.
Whenever I have the need to stay in Durham City or for family and friends this is always my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break in Durham with my husband after staying at the Victorian Town House. Cannot praise it enough. Owners Jill and Andy were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Flambard room, which was so comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing. If we return to Durham would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Address: 2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Town House, renovated to a high standard, is set in the heart of the World Heritage site of Durham's majestic cathedral and castle. It is only a five-minute walk from train station and city centre. It holds four star accreditation with Gold Award from Visit Britain. In addition it holds a breakfast award and Taste Durham award indicating the quality of its breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. It provides stylish accommodation with panoramic views of Durham cathedral, castle and park. Twin, Family and Double rooms are available, providing luxury en-suite accommodation in a mixture of traditional elegance and contemporary style. Limited off-street parking is available. Wi-fi available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.