We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Town House
Save
You added The Victorian Town House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Durham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We thoroughly recommend the Victorian Town House
We stayed for 3 nights, everything met our expectations and it is difficult to add anything new to the positive ratings of other guests.
We were pleasantly surprised to even have a view of the Cathedral.
We look forward to visiting again - hopefully in warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
195
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Victorian Town House. One of the best B&B we have stayed in. From the room the breakfast and the hosts everything was excellent. On probably the coldest weekend of the year every time we returned to our room the heating was on and it was lovely and warm. We were only a five minute walk into the centre of Durham and 10 minute to the station where you are only a 15 minute journey from Newcastle upon Tyne. There are several nice restaurants in Durham and the Cathedral is a must visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

it was our first stay at this hotel and we would definetly go back, the rooms were furnished to a very high standard and andy & jill could not have done any more for us, tea and scones on arrival; and a fabulous breakfast.


thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We looked at the reviews for a special 40th birthday break and came across the Victorian Town House. Everything the reviews say about how great it is is true. We stayed in the Beaumont room which was beautifully decorated and relaxing. Andy and Jill are perfect hosts and really surprised me with a birthday card at breakfast which was a lovely touch, which reflects on how they really take care of you. Breakfast first class! A birthday to remember! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay - having time off from the kids usually sends us straight to the pub when we stay anywhere but it was a brilliant setting to unwind in; great views from the room as well- peaceful yet very close to City centre

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in the Langley room on the ground floor which was delightful. The room itself was spacious and charmingly decorated, with a modern en suite shower room. Every comfort had been thought of by Jill and Andy who were so helpful from the moment we arrived. We were offered a lovely cup of tea and cake as soon as we got into our room and Andy gave us lots of useful information about the area and where to eat that evening.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious - smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, croissants, poached fruit, and much more in addition to full english style breakfast. The atmosphere in the Victorian Town House is so friendly that we found ourselves chatting to the other families over breakfast.
Hopefully we'll return to Durham and if so, then definitely will book to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This B&B deserves its accolades. My daughter and I were able to stay for one night luckily, since generally a 2-night minimum is required. We had a twin on the street side, so did not have the view, but it was roomy and quiet. The beds were especially comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and beautifully appointed. Andy and Jill, who are both former teachers, were warm, gracious hosts and we enjoyed chatting with them. They have tastefully remodeled and decorated their house, and the location is fantastic--only a few minutes walk to the train station, to the city center, and to Durham Cathedral. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a visit to Durham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Address: 2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Town House, renovated to a high standard, is set in the heart of the World Heritage site of Durham's majestic cathedral and castle. It is only a five-minute walk from train station and city centre. It holds four star accreditation with Gold Award from Visit Britain. In addition it holds a breakfast award and Taste Durham award indicating the quality of its breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. It provides stylish accommodation with panoramic views of Durham cathedral, castle and park. Twin, Family and Double rooms are available, providing luxury en-suite accommodation in a mixture of traditional elegance and contemporary style. Limited off-street parking is available. Wi-fi available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.