We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints whatsoever- better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Durham City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £69
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No complaints whatsoever- better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights Friday/Saturday 11th/12th July.
Very efficient check in - had checked in on line earlier in the day and it was well worth it, no waiting and form filling at the desk. Most polite and friendly reception staff on arrival and was in the room, 222 very good choice at the side of the hotel across from the leisure centre and above and to the side of the small outdoor seating area, where people were sitting chatting and drinking quite late, but this was no problem at all, did not hear any noise.
We ate in the Thyme restaurant on the meal deal and whilst not an extensive menu, the food was good and couldn't complain at the price, the breakfast in particular was excellent and the buffet service allows for as much as you want and no being rushed out of the restaurant.
Drinks not overly expensive.
All staff with whom we came into contact were very very nice and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
On leaving on Sunday we were able to leave our bags and collect a couple of hours later.
Bedroom spacious and clean as was the bathroom, most comfortable beds.
Thank you Premier Inn Durham for a really good stay - hope our Southampton West Quay stay, August 15th will be just as good.

Room Tip: I am told the side rooms across from the sports centre as as quiet as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    282
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
196
355
52
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just come back from spending three days at Durham City centre Premier Inn. The hotel is clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff especially Andrea and co of a morning in the dining room were very welcoming, the breakfast was wonderful, plenty of variety and cooked perfectly. The staff are so helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. It was my brothers birthday whilst we were there and he received a birthday card from the staff. I can't recommend this hotel enough, Durham is a beautiful city, well worth a visit, and certainly the Premier Durham city centre hotel is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Any room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of all the sites in Durham. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the breakfasts fantastic. The only downside was the noise and heat.

Our room was on the ground floor looking on to the street - Saturday night revellers seemed to hang around outside the hotel and made a lot of noice. Although there was not a heatwave while we were there, the room was so hot it was uncomfortable. The airconditioning seemed to do little to cool it down and because of the noise outside, we could not open the window.

That said, I would definitely stay in the hotel again but request a room at the back of the building.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request room above ground level and preferrably at the back (certainly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

More than adequate hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable, Bar and restaurant area perfectly ok for a drink and meal. Although it was the university open weekend still seemed reasonably quite.
Breakfast was good, plenty available and well cooked. Staff were welcoming and friendly and we had no complaints. Hotel is well situated very near city centre and there is a large car park just behind the hotel. For a place to rest your head and see Durham, Great!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable with great beds and a wonderful shower. The prices seem reasonable and it is a 10 min, walk (uphill) to the Cathedral. The only caveats are that our air conditioning did not work and there was a very noisy restaurant outside our window, and the attached restaurant was overpriced and overcrowded. Go to Wetherspoon's instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeley Heath, Essex, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited the Premier Inn at Durham City Centre the first weekend in July.
The location is excellent - walking distance from the centre of the city, close to a nearby taxi rank and a car park that offers discounted parking next door.
Within 5 minutes walk there are several restaurant options such as nandos, slug and lettuce, Mexican, noodles etc. We ate at the hotel at the Thyme restaurant however and found it excellent. A wide choice of menu dishes to suit all tastes and when bought as part of the £22 package where you get 2 courses and the full breakfast the next day it offers excellent value for money. Breakfast was busy but well managed - with no queuing, the area was kept clean and the food well stocked.
Service in the restaurant at both breakfast and dinner was excellent - Daniel in the evening and the incredibly hard working and nice girls on the breakfast duty were incredibly efficient and courteous.

Room 114 was large, clean and well maintained with the usual comfy bed and facilities.

So why not give this hotel 5 stars? Unfortunately although it's location is excellent it is right next door to a nightclub and several bars. We did not notice the noise so badly on Friday night but Saturday night at 10pm the customer noise level escalated and went on with shrieking and shouting until 4am. We tried window open and window closed but it really was very distracting and prevented a good sleep.
On check out the next day I mentioned the problem to the receptionist who was very apologetic and automatically refunded the full night's charge (£85) and suggested that we requested a quiet room next time.

We were not expecting this refund even though I had heard of the good nights sleep guarantee and I was pleasantly surprised when it was offered so readily.

Suggestions for visiting the hotel would be to check your directions on the sat nav as it can be quite confusing on the approach to the car park and also to request a quiet room.

I am very satisfied with our visit and would not hesitate to stay again - I think the staff and location of the hotel make for a great place to stay in Durham.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have never stayed at a Premier Inn before and I can honestly say what a fantastic stay I had. The staff at this Premier Inn were so friendly and could not do enough for you [ it's a shame there are not more people like them] Any way the hotel was lovely and clean, my room was so big, the bed was very comfy and very large certainly plenty of room for me and my Daughter. The location was perfect for our needs, there was a fab tele , the bathroom was nice and large and very clean. We had a Premier Inn breakfast and it was delicious. I will defiantly be returning to a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Durham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.