We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Durham City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I regularly stay at this Premier Inn as it close to my family. I have made numerous visits to this Premier Inn and I amazed by the number of staff who remember me on each return visit I make. Even the newer members of staff who do not know are always extremely friendly and kind towards to me.

Andrea the breakfast lady always make time for me, and I can also see that she always gives good customer service to all guests who stay at the Premier Inn. Chris on reception is another member of staff who remembers me and she also gives good customer service to all guests who stay at the Premier Inn.

I have made two visits to this Premier Inn over the recent Christmas / New Year break. On both occasions one being Christmas Day and the other being New Years Day I was allowed to check in early well before the standard 2pm check in time as they had rooms free.

I have to say all the staff at this Premier Inn are asset to the brand and will always put the customer first. This is a great Premier Inn to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    304
    57
    15
    12
See reviews for
211
392
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights visiting our daughter who was in panto at the Gala theater. This hotel is in a great location, next door to the theater and has many restaurants and bars around it and within easy walking distance. We went by train and felt we really didn't need a car.
Hotel itself was spotless, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and the food was very good. Breakfast was very good value for money.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Durham City Centre Premier Inn while taking our son back to University.

excellent service and good quality room and breakfast - superb value for money.
staff were very friendly and helpful - keen to give advice on local points of interest etc

location is superb - right in city centre

Room Tip: ask for 4th floor - no noise from street at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for a night 3rd Jan - excellent value for money £19 room & really central. Parking in multi storey good value £7.50 - you must get your ticket validated at the hotel reception to get at the reduced rate - Great night sleep - Will definately stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is well positioned within easy reach of Durham town centre and some lovely pubs and restaurants. The bed was very large and comfortable. The room was spacious and clean. As we booked well in advance, the price was great. Although we did not use the dining facilities, it was good to know that we had that option. The only things that could be improved was the price of the parking (£7.50 for 24 hours) and the fact that we were given the wrong postcode on our automatic text update.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideal location for exploring Durham. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was some noise on a morning as we were on the ground floor next to the delivery area but you expct this in a city centre location. One negative was the breakfast, the bacon was rubbery, eggs under cooked, sausages over cooked and greasy mushrooms a good cup of tea though and the continental selection was a better option. We would stay again but not have breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights pre-Christmas for a short break with friends. The hotel was in a good position, the room was spacious and large comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was lovely. I would definitely sta here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Durham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.