We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Durham City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £69
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for a few days city break in July’12 – a very pleasant stay.
Great location for walking around the city, varied restaurants and the people of Durham are friendly.
Took the TA reviewers advice and got there for 3:00PM and asked for a quiet room.
Staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast is waiter service for the hot food and buffet for the remainder – saw Raddison Hotel guests walking over the bridge to have breakfast here!!.
We have stayed in 4 star hotels that have less going for them than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    282
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
196
355
52
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed weekend of 22nd & 23rd of Sept, excellent location right in the city centre.Does not have it's own parking but you get discounted parking at rear in the multi storey (works out at £7 per 24hrs). Staff are a credit to the company, very professional and attentive with everything explained on arrival. Room was clean and comfortable. Set to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we stayed in premire inn in durham walkergte.... very nice stay in deed..near town centre was very helpful.. also near pubs and restraunts.. and staff or very helpful and friendly. i will be return for short brak again very soon . we enjoyed that much .. beamish was very good and the hotel give us vouchers with 25% off very good indeed.. the only complaint really is the car park when our ticket woulden work after the hotel validated it,, but it did not spoil our stay.. higly recommended by me and my wife

Room Tip: 4th floor seemed quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June. Premier Inn do very well in maintaining their standards at a national level and this was no different. A very comfortable clean hotel room and bed, great breakfast, and friendly staff. The room I had was very quiet, and its also right in the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here to help my student get settled in Durham University. The hotel is very good for that. Great location close to University and in a pinch you can walk to the train station. Very clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Close also to a number of fantastic restaurants and pubs. Lovely bar and good breakfast plan.

Room Tip: Do not take Room 1 - it is close to recycling bins outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were agreeably surprised at the standard of this budget hotel. The location was ideal for all the attractions in Durham City. The welcome and efficiency of the young man on reception is to be commended. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Parking in the nearby multi-storey car park was most convenient for a city centre hotel and at £7.50 - good value. The only downside was the noise of revellers at 2am, but that is not the fault of Premier Inns.
Breakfast was very good although my wife and I would prefer not to be referred to as "Guys".
However, all in all our stay was hassle-free and most comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was a real find. Really clean and new with excellent food and great location. Staff were first class. I stupidly booked the dinner bed and breakfast deal without checking our train times - we were scheduled to arrive after the restuarant stopped serving! They could have done a 'Fawlty Towers' and told me the kitchen was closed, but when I phoned a very kind lady told me that if I pre-ordered from the menu she would have it ready for us. Within 5 minutes of checking in, two delicious meals arrived with an, 'if you need anything else just phone through'. Better service than I've had at 4/5 star hotels. I don't know what 'celebrating' Chalkie421 planned but I can't believe this hotel has any jobsworths and it was probably in the interests of other guests that they intervened.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and it was ok - but that was mid week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Durham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.