We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reception at Travelodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
A39 North Devon Link Rd | Roundswell Services, Barnstaple EX31 3RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Hereford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor reception at Travelodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Barnstaple Travelodge is typical of the group in its provision of basic (very) facilities. However it is hard to find, and the reception staff are hopeless and unhelpful. Otherwise the room was clean and the bed comfortable.


  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
16
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travelodge is what it is and this one is no different a clean cheap hotel. I wouldn't normally review this type of premises but I feel that this Travelodge deserves a special mention. Whilst visiting the area we had a family medical emergency and the staff were absolutely great at helping to arrange rooms etc for family.
Top marks for staff assistance friendly and helpful. Well done Travelodge.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in the course of my work as a Driver. Very compact car park so no room for my 7.5 ton truck. Lady at Reception suggested asking at the Filling Station at the front of the premises for permission to park on their premises - which they kindly allowed me to do. Room was spacious and clean. In a previous stay at another Travelodge I mentioned it lacked having any towels - but these were supplied at Barnstaple. Most importantly a comfortable bed for a good nights sleep. Super stay for £40!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice welcome from receptionist with knowledge of area,clean and tidy hotel with large rooms,situated on A39 behind filling station and KFC restaurant,stayed on a Tuesday night,not much noise got a good nights sleep,car parking was free! but only half hour WI-FI then have to pay.Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful.
Hotel and room clean and well presented.
Everything you'd expect from a Travelodge.

Slightly out of town but not a problem assuming traveling by car however Carpark quite small and busy.


  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Stayed at Barnstaple Travelodge for 2 nights. Good location to travel up to Woolacombe & Ilfracombe. Friendly staff, comfortable beds. You have a KFC opposite & a petrol station & Spar shop next door. You do not hear any noise from these though. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and had a very pleasant stay.We are always happy with the service Travelodge provides.The lodge was slightly difficult to pinpoint off the very busy island and we had to go round twice.Its set right behind the Spar and garage.It was a little way away from Barnstaple and parking in the town was quite expensive so on the second day we drove along to the" park and ride" and that proved much easier.The position is good for exploring the North Devon coast.There was no obvious noise from the road but being October we did not have the window open.The staff were all friendly and when our bathroom light failed it was replaced immediately.Would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel

Address: A39 North Devon Link Rd | Roundswell Services, Barnstaple EX31 3RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel Devon
Travel Lodge Barnstaple
Barnstaple Travel Lodge
Barnstaple Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.