We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Barnstaple

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Barnstaple to your Saves list
Premier Inn Barnstaple
Eastern Ave, Whiddon Valley, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Horton in Ribblesdale, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

On an unbelievably busy August bank holiday, the peace of our comfy room was most welcome. The hard working staff were so friendly and polite even at the most hectic times of our visit.
Perfect location for visiting North Devon and cycling the Tarka trail.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    149
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
139
121
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

we stayed at this inn on our way to our vacation resort and had a pleasurable night however we had chosen it for three nights on our return and it was much less so
so!
We had booked a family room and basically it was the same as a std double but with two singles squeezed in~ so much so that until I pushed the double bed across as far as it would go therewas no room to get in or out of them!!
It was a very clean room and bathroom but omg it was so stiflingly hot even though the outside temperatures weren't so!
There is no air con only a room heater and to compensate a small fan on the desk!
The desk staff were lovely and must give a special mention to Michelle for whom nothing was too much trouble and her help was really appreciated!
Now for the bad part of the review and in keeping with others on here it is about the Table Table restaurant next door!
I couldn't fault the breakfast and thought the selection was great and plentiful!
However the same cannot be said for the guy hosting in the evening (who I think was one of the managers!)
His attitude was awful~ we had been out for the day and our car had broken down so went to the restaurant to feed our children or so we thought!!
I asked him for a table for four people and in his words"No chance we're full"
So I explained our situation and that we were hotel guests and his response was"Yes you and another 75 rooms and we only have 35 tables available"!!
So my wife said well thanks for your help and understanding and he turned and walked away!!
Just downright rude and I will be passing this on to table table customer services!
Luckily the lovely Michelle was on hand to guide us to other restaurants and takeaways that would deliver to us!
I would stay at the hotel again but if booking with children I would insist on seeing the room layout first and hope that premier inns sort out air con for these rooms asap! !


  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family & I stayed here for 4 nights this week. We have stayed at a few Premier Inns in the past & always been happy with everything. This time was no exception. Staff were friendly, room clean,a good size & quiet. However, unfortunately the restaurant next door was not so good. Although the food was OK, it took an hour for our meals to arrive!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The room was one of the more modern ones with bedside lights you could read by ! and a good-sized, flat, wall-mounted TV. It was clean and very quiet. The restaurant was not such a good experience though. We have given feedback via the Table Table Customer Service and the Premier Feedback Questionnaire.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Clean rooms but although sheets tidied up daily, floor was not vacuumed which would have been nice as we stayed 3 nights. Rooms reasonably sized but stiflingly hot and no air con only heater which was uncomfortable even for the heat generated by a British summer. Staff helpful and plentiful parking. All amenities close by but chose not to eat breakfast having read poor reviews. Good access to where we needed to go ( beach!) and late no penalty cancellation were main reasons for booking rather than anything else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just got back from staying at Premier Inn for 3 nights with the family. First time we have used them and were impressed.
Room was lovely a clean and very spacious considering had an extra bed put in for one of the kids.
Had a fan in room which was needed as room quite warm! Could really do with air con in rooms, not sure if in some or not but would be useful.
Wifi only free for 30minutes then costs £3 per 24 hours....used our free 30 minutes then no more.

Staff very friendly and polite and we will use premier inn again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you want to stay in a hotel with room temps of 28-30 degrees then pick this one. Duty day manager never cared when we complained. Two fans going but with no ease in the room temp. The need to get air-conditioning units installed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnstaple, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple

Address: Eastern Ave, Whiddon Valley, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Barnstaple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.