We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Barnstaple

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Barnstaple to your Saves list
Premier Inn Barnstaple
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastern Ave, Whiddon Valley, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shropshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we were here for a two night stay with friends and found the standard excellent. Room was spacious with very good bed and bathroom facilities. We used the restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner and again found a good standard with great staff, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value in both. Would definitely stay again if in area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    160
    62
    20
    14
See reviews for
150
136
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

stayed here last month and the staff were all really helpful and nice. my room was clean. my only fault being the location to the town itself, not as close as I would like, and being a single lady always involves a taxi ride.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Room was cold, heating system poor, thermostat fixed at 23 but seemed never to reach this then automatically switched off. Thermostat then showed 16 but it never cut back in to heat up. Asked reception staff about this they said they would try to find additional heat source but never came back to me. I spoke to another member of staff later in the day and they new nothing of earlier request and said that's just how the room heating system works. Not good and I have put this in the Premier Inn customer survey

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

As we have come to expect from Premier inn. Great location, clean rooms and a good nights sleep. Sounds like an advert I know but it is very true of this location. Also good restaurant next door. Very friendly staff who make you welcome as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ideal location for exploring North Devon. It became a standing joke that everywhere we wanted to visit was approx 35 minutes away when programmed into sat nav....but that was the case. Places such as Lynton, Lynmouth, woolacombe, Clovelly all fell into this category. Restaurant next door is good and handy for Tesco, Mcdonalds etc if you can't run to the price of the Premier Inn breakfasts each day. Also handy for the Tarka Trail cycle route.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fast check-in process at reception. We were allocated in the annexe. No view from the window, just trees and a bit of grass but not a problem as just there for one night. Large comfortable double bed and a good sized bed for a child, not the usual sofa you can get in many hotels. Large flat screen TV and desk/chair to use if needed. On the downside the room was far too hot, even with the window open.
For our evening meal we decided to eat next door at the Table Table restaurant which was very popular. Average pub prices but decent sized portions of food, my husband enjoyed his half roast chicken and chips. We had to chase for our food as it took a while to arrive but I think we'd been forgotten as others had their meals before us and had ordered after we had. Very good range of children's desserts for just 99p, others chains should follow this as they seemed to be very popular.
Good location for the hotel, with a large Tesco Extra store opposite and a McDonald's and other stores just down the road.
Overall, good experience, we've stayed at Premier Inns before and will do so again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in a family room, two adults and two children. Rooms are excellent for the cost with a double bed and two full size singles, a lot better than the normal manky sofa beds you sometimes find!. Nice food in the restaurant. Excellent showers and warm baths. We would definitely stay here again. I recommend this to everybody .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple

Address: Eastern Ave, Whiddon Valley, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Barnstaple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.