We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pyne arms

Pyne arms
East Down, Barnstaple, England
01271-85-00-55
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 107 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Devon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to the Pyne Arms for a birthday dinner with the girls. Despite it being cold outside the heating was on full blast inside and made a good start to the evening. The menu was very tempting and the food delicious. There was a good selection of wines offered. Another bonus was the toilets - absolutely spotless (I often find toilets are neglected). The staff were welcoming and there was a good feel about the place. The only suggestion I could make would be to turn the lighting down slightly at night, but this is being really picky!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Vastly improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A proper country pub well off the beaten track. Refurbished & reopened under new management at end September. Food is well above average for pub fare in the area....fresh sea bass, lamb shanks, pigeon breasts, etc.. Tempting choice of desserts. Good beer - Tribute, draught Guinness, etc., and more adventurous wine list than average for a country pub. Service very friendly. Word has got around and it is now pretty popular at weekends (i.e. may be a good idea to book a table if planning to eat there on a Friday or Saturday evening).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good pub, good food, good beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Recently visited The Pyne Arms, (3 times actually) whilst holidaying close by. The staff and locals offered a warm, friendly welcome to this traditional country pub, the beer was perfect and the food ( both lunch and evening meals ) was well cooked, well presented local produce. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent start-well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have a holiday home in North Devon and have been meaning to visit the Pyne Arms for some time. We read that the pub had recenlty changed hands and we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The menu was imaginative and the service attentive. The new owners deserve success. We understand that the pub has been refurbished. It is clean and tidy but would benefit from more 'cosy' lighting

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

As holiday makers, this pub/restaurant was a true find. The menu was imaginative and offered both traditional dishes and something more adventurous, catered for vegetarians and was not going to break the bank! The food arrived in a timely fashion, hot and well presented. It was delicious and both my husband and I were delighted having been sadly disappointed at other hostelries in the area. The desserts also proved to be divine.
As an added bonus, the music was low key and very pleasant, the loos were very well kept and there was a large car park.
The staff were charming and were happy to talk, all the while keeping their eyes open to the needs of their other guests.
Oh, and we were allowed to take our well behaved labrador in with us. If only we could clone them and have them closer to us in Winchester, we'd be over the moon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyne arms also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Pyne arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyne arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.