We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This a wonderful Hotel in a great location; close to the Town centre, adjacent to Rock Park and River Taw. What you see is NOT what you get here - City Centre appearance gives way to 5 star service and accommodation. The 'Garden Court' annex is a treat I am almost reluctant to expose - great sized rooms of immaculate quality. Barnstaple is another undiscovered treasure - great shops, very friendly and helpful staff. The best accolade is saved for last - Sam and her colleagues at Reception and in the Restaurant / Kitchens / Bar are the best in the world !! 200 characters is insufficient space to recount my admiration and gratitude. Their professional, friendly service made this a lifetime experience worth sharing - Thank you.

Room Tip: Garden Court Rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Park Hotel. I am glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable time both with us and in Barnstaple itself. I am also very pleased read yet another positive review about our staff! I will be sure to pass on your comments and appreciation and hope to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    88
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
72
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had to do a flying work trip to North Devon and stayed here for one night. The staff in the restaurant were excellent. I was there for lunch on Thursday the 22nd and back for dinner in the evening. Even though I didn't think he'd noticed a waiter remembered that I had requested gluten free food at lunch time. All of the staff were lovely, friendly and attentive..

Well done ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear such positive feedback about our staff, I am pleased that you were so well looked after and look forward to welcoming you back should you visit the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes, as you approach from Victoria Road it does look rather like a car showroom, but don't be put off. Inside it's very well appointed, with plenty of public space (restaurant and bar). Our room was very comfortable - on the back of the hotel, so the immediate view was of the car park, though with the tower of Holy Trinity just beyond. Plenty of hanging, shelf and drawer space; comfortable bed. The rail in the shower was especially appreciated. We took the dinner, bed and breakfast option, which was very good value for money; although the cooking was generally excellent, we would have preferred a bit more in the way of gravy and sauces. No such reservations about breakfast, which was outstanding, especially the smoked haddock and kipper options - the only possible niggle was the lack of yoghurt, but we managed without, since there was no lack of fruit and cereals.

The staff were very helpful, not only as regards general everyday service, but helping with directions and especially with luggage The only real drawback of the hotel is the lack of a lift, and although it's only a two storey building, the stairs can be a bit tricky to negotiate with bulky luggage - or so we assume; the staff very willingly took our bags up and down for us.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The Park is very easy to locate and parking is plentiful and free. On arrival the booking in and efficiency of reception staff was excellent. My room (103) was spacious with a good size en suite. The cleanliness of the room was faultless, the bath and taps had a real sparkle to them. On my first nights stay the television wasn't working properly, I reported it to reception and within 5 minutes someone was at the door to fix it.
I was at the hotel for business at the local college but wasn't sure if the building I needed was on the campus or at another location in the town, again the receptionist and another member of staff found this out for me although it wasn't easy and it took a while but they didn't give up until they could give me answer.
Hot breakfast was made to order. It arrived well cooked and piping hot with polite and efficient dining room staff to seat and serve you.
The only reason I have not given this hotel an excellent rating was for the following: leisure facilities are off site at a sister hotel, although free of charge to use, it did mean a car drive to get to it.
There is a strange fusty type smell in the corridors where the rooms are located, not quite sure if its an old carpet or old vacuum cleaner smell.
The free WiFi is unreliable, it kept disconnecting and was painfully slow when it was connected.
All in all, would I recommend this hotel? Yes for business or pleasure, the staff alone make it worth a stay. It's conveniently located to the town centre, the park and not too long a walk from the train station. I certainly would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It is always welcoming to hear such positive feedback. I am glad that you were so pleased with the hotel and that you were well looked after by our staff. I apologise for the minor concerns you did have regarding the wifi and smell, I will look into these to see if they can be improved. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a rather strange looking hotel, like a converted 1960s car showroom (which it may be), but on the plus side it has a very good location and very helpful and well trained staff as well as a large car park. It's just opposite a pleasant park, and a short walk into Barnstaple with its pretty back streets and the wonderful Pannier Market and Butchers Row food shops

We spent only one night there for a family event nearby. The worst of the heatwave was over, but it was still very hot in the room, and there was no air conditioning, only a small fan. Fortunately the windows opened a little. The room itself was a bit tired, but perfectly comfortable. There was free wifi which needed a code from reception. We didn't bother with it, so can't comment. There were very few power points in the room, which was a bit of an inconvenience and might be quite difficult if you have a lot of things which need charging on a longer stay or if you are on business.

Our room was in the main building and we were a little concerned when we returned in the evening as there was very loud music from the first floor function room quite near to our room. However, with the corridor door and our room door closed we didn't hear a thing, and slept well.

Breakfast was a surprise, as we had understood we only had continental breakfast with our room rate. We found that a full cooked breakfast was actually included, and very good it was too. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, anticipating every need and serving us with a smile.

We asked for a late checkout so we could get changed before our event. This was arranged without fuss and free of charge, and was much appreciated.

The Park hadn't been our first choice of hotel, but we found it competitively priced and the excellent location and the staff probably would make it our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is well positioned, with easy parking. Our room looked over the park which was great, a bit noisey on the Saturday night with people heading for town and then home again in the early hours. The room was a good size, perhaps a bit dated but good enough for our needs.
Good bar area, had a drink on the outside terrace. id not eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: perhaps a room in the courtyard, less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, but wish we'd have booked elsewhere for the same cost. Great location, very handy, helpful & friendly staff (aside from a rather disgruntled bar man one evening). We had the misfortune of having the last bedroom at the far end of the corridor from the stairway and just to walk the length of the corridor was purgatory, the heat took your breath away, what little you could get! (even the staff were complaining about it as we rushed past the cleaners and a store cupboard) ... so to the bedroom .. it was very small, old and tired though it was well fitted, the en suite bathroom on the other hand was modern, bright and large (in comparison to the bedroom about half size) though on the downside the water pressure was almost non existent either morning or evening making it very irritating to get a shower as it did little more than dribble ..... so a bath was out of the question unless you wanted a long wait ......... but then there was no hot water at any time of day or night ........ constantly tepid water from the bath/shower or hand basin but never any hot water. Can't say I'd be in a rush to stay again, not great for a 3 star charging what they did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback and work hard to improve the areas our guests are not satisfied with. I would firstly like to apologise that you were not pleased with your bedroom or it’s location, more than often if guests are displeased with their room we are able to move them to one they are more comfortable in, I apologise that this was not possible on this occasion. With regards to the water in your room I understand your frustration, I will ensure that is looked into immediately by our maintenance team and see that it is improved. On a more positive note I am pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and our staff, we will do our very best to improve the problems you experienced to improve any future visits you or any other guest have with us.

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.