We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barnstaple Hotel to your Saves list
Barnstaple Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Braunton Rd, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Underated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel belies its 3star rating. Dated sixties building but very welcoming and comfortable hotel.
Staff could not do enough, room was very comfortable, excellent indoor and outdoor pools,
gymnasium and spa. Quality of food at breakfast and dinner was exceptional.
I would highly recommend this hotel for long or short stays.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    142
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
103
119
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found the Barnsaple clean friendly and well presented The accomodation was good Breakfast excellent Bar meal in the evening was very good Staff helpfull. We both enjoyed the indoor swiming pool.A enjoyable visit to a beautiful part of England

Room Tip: Dont be decived by the motel apperance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Hants
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Barnstaple at short notice. There don't seem to be many and what there are is expensive. This one didn't look very promising from the outside and prices seemed expensive. However, we found its actually a very comfortable and good quality hotel. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

No beauty from the outside, but the room decor and bathroom is perfectly acceptable, clean, fresh and smart. The staff were very attentive and welcoming, restaurant food in the evening was very impressive and reasonably priced. Breakfast was equally as good with freshly cooked eggs.

I was staying with 8 other colleagues and no one could fault the hotel or its facilities. Very family friendly judging by the four families enjoying an evening meal.

Good leisure facilities next door (not connected to the hotel but great for families or groups), bowling, skating etc. A very nice stay and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Barnstaple Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

stayed at barnstable hotel sat 31 aug/ sun1 sept. very nice. staff were really helpful, breakfast was superb,dunno why clare h got the fish smell from !! i went in outdoor pool couldnt smell anything.no air con or lift were the downside to the place.it was too hot during the day in the room, would stay there again though as it was central for lots of the tourist attractions in north devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad you took the time to use our facilities and you found all our staff helpful and polite. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Barnstaple Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I came to the Barnstaple Hotel for my friends wedding. She had the whole day there and we stayed overnight as we had traveled down for the wedding. It is based on an ugly industrial estate and when getting out of the car we were hit with an overwhelming smell of fish. I don't think this has anything to do with the hotel itself but the smell did linger as walked to our room which was outside near the outdoor pool. The smell seemed to vanish later on though, much to my delight! I initially found the hotel very warm, too warm for August, especially when there were 6 of us helping the bride to get ready in one room. We all felt far too hot!! However, it did seem to cool down later on. The Arlington Suite where the ceremony took place looked newly decorated with a strong smell of new carpet. It was very nice. Staff were very friendly. Our room was clean with everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. I slept really well although that probably had something to do with being tired from hours of dancing at the wedding reception! I was very dissapointed with the shower as the water was only lukewarm and stayed lukewarm, despite turning the temperature up as high as it would go! Breakfast was delicious and very ample! Just what I needed before the journey home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good points are- very friendly staff, good food, clean and adequate rooms.
Not so good points- no air conditioning in rooms, some noise, especially from slamming doors, no lift and a long walk to some rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Braunton Rd, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnstaple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.