We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richard way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal and Fortescue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal and Fortescue Hotel to your Saves list
Royal and Fortescue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boutport St., Barnstaple EX31 1HG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rooms available from £75
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Richard way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and i and our twins Oliver & Hannah have stayed at the hotel numerous times. We have always found the staff first class and the hotel comfortable.We always feel we get good value for money!The hotel is centrally located which is a bonus having small children.Rock park is close by which offers a lot of entertainment for young children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    91
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
36
107
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed whilst cycling through Devon. The hotel was well presented and staff were professional in their approach but having stayed in b&bs on previous nights it all seemed so impersonal. Value scored as poor as breakfast was not included and was charged at £12 per head! The situation is excellent for easy access to the centre of the town and railway station.Beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This small and intimate lounge type restaurant is an Italianesque haven providing a delicious alternative eating experience to the more traditional English fare offered within the hotel. An inspiring menu supported by excellent service and an attractive decor invites one to give it a try and the food most certainly does not disappoint. This is somewhere that certainly deserves a visit and for many regular visitors to the town and locals alike will surely become a regular place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while traveling through the area. The room was very clean and comfortable and decorated very nicely. The bed was absolutely the most comfortable bed we slept in during our entire travels. The bathroom was also very nice with plenty of counter space for all our toiletries. The room also had air conditioning which was very much appreciated as the weather was hot and sticky. Our only hesitation about staying here, however, was the location. We did not feel it would be a safe area to be out in after dark. Our car was kept in their locked car park so we were grateful for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various, UK.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Most central hotel in Barnstaple, at the head of the high street.
All the staff are very pleasant especially the restaurant and bar staff
Breakfast was good for the price and morning staff happy and courteous
The restaurants especially The Bank are very nice and the bar/lounge is good to relax and chat
On the down side, no fan in our room when it was 30 degrees - apparently some rooms had air con but not ours; the hotel did not have enough operational fans for rooms without air con which is not acceptable when a heatwave is forecast.
The décor was beyond dated, the pics on trip advisor show some rooms that have been modernised but not all are and the one we stayed in was truly out of the 1980's. You MUST APPLAUD the housekeeping staff as the room was very clean, but the fact that the mirror was cracked, soap dish cracked, edges of units in the rooms cracked etc. and in dire need of replacement.
I read that the restaurant had been recently refurbished which is nice, but the carpet which is over a decade old was not replaced simultaneously which was a shame.
In summary the staff, location, food and drinks cannot be faulted.
The décor and lack of provisions for hot weather seriously let this prestigious hotel's group down and I would urge that the modernisation is standardised across the hotel to rejuvenate 'the Westcountry's leading hotel group' to former glory and to not lose it's reputation

Room Tip: INSIST on an air conditioned and modernised room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First visit to the Fortescue, its a really nice hotel, nice bright large room and comfy bed. Friendly and helpful staff and free secure parking just behind the hotel was a bonus. Hotel centrally located in town so easy to walk out to bars and restaurants and hotel has own bistro next door. Best beach we found was Putsborough which is just a short drive after Croyde beach but is well worth a visit. Navigating the local one way system in town can be a little confusing as roads will be closed to general traffic `except for access`which applies to street hotel is in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had been to the Fortescue for the Millenium celebrations and the stay then was extremely good. This time it was just to catch up on how friends were keeping and catching up on their news. The lounge area and seating was just right for us, we could sit and chat in comfort. the hotel is in the town and has plenty of parking. The rooms are clean tidy and comfortable, always plenty of hot water for baths and showers. We had breakfast and dinner for the two days and have to say there was a good choice. The meals were always well presented by courteous staff. We would be happy to go again, as things were so good. I also ought to add that it is a good place to from which to explore the coast in the area.

Room Tip: Mews rooms tend to be a little noisy in the mornings as the kitchen staff start the day at around 7a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal and Fortescue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal and Fortescue Hotel

Address: Boutport St., Barnstaple EX31 1HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal and Fortescue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal and Fortescue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal And Fortescue Barnstaple
Royal And Fortescue Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal and Fortescue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.