We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value day out, AMAZING cakes!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor Zoo

Exmoor Zoo
South Stowford | Bratton Fleming, Barnstaple EX31 4SG, England
01598 763352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the Gold award for best attraction in the South-west 2012, Exmoor Zoo has become an ideal family day out. The zoo has established a good rapport with the North Devon community and offers a very hand on experience for all its visitors.Activities run throughout the day (every half hour in summer), you get to meet a bird eating spider, hold a snake, feed wallabies (under supervision), meet some of the zoos friendly furry animals and of course go to all the talks and feeding sessions (if you can)!Home to the “Exmoor Beast” (a pair of black leopards), Puma, Cheetah, Maned wolves, monkeys and lots of other unusual animals like Tamandua, Fishing cats, Tapir, Singing dogs and Binturong to just name a few! The zoo is a living place with changes all the time; no visit is ever quite the same.Useful information:• Disabled access (wheelchair provision and scooter hire)• Activities through out the day• Cafeteria• Children’s playground• Undercover picnic areas• Zoo trail.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value day out, AMAZING cakes!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing little zoo. You feel really close to the animals. Plenty of monkeys, lemurs and assorted birds. Love the otters and the singing dogs. Adore the sand cats and the pumas!!!! Really good cafe/restaurant with the most amazing home made cakes! Great value for money!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    135
    24
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alderholt, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

During a holiday in Exmoor, in the middle of May, as the weather was a bit chilly and overcast we decided to visit the zoo. Parking was easy. It is quite small and compact, but the animals seemed well cared for and easily visible. There are many different types of viewing platforms and the staff are around to give lots of interesting advice. Feeding times are really enjoyable - you can hear the meerkats callings as soon as meal times approach. As the zoo is compact it doesn't take long to return to the site. Also loved the handling area - especially being able to hold a tarantula and a snake. It was quiet during our visit as children were still at school so it was very comfortable. The cafe was satisfactory, but was quite busy even on our visit. I agree with others who felt the map was a little confusing when walking around, but it doesn't take long to get your bearings if you go astray.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for younger children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely peaceful place to go. Probably best if you have younger children as it's a small zoo. I've taken my daughter twice, once when she was 1 and again when she was 2, and she enjoyed it both times.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We weren't expecting too much but this is a lovely zoo. There's lots of animals, although none of the big ones, there is a puma, cheetah, meerkats and loads of others. There's lots of talks through the day and the opportunity to hold spiders and snakes. There were lots of babies too, there were a couple of babies that were only three days old! So cute! I'd recommend this zoo, although small the children will love it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely day out .Far more to see than we had expected although we didn't get to see the Cheetahs & the map was confusing as there are to lots of Wallabies.
Café served good food & reasonably priced.
Staff very friendly & helpful.
activities were good too.
We took my 79 year old mum & hired a mobility scooter for £5 (pre booked )she had a fantastic time.
Great value for money. Good picnic areas under covered & uncovered
Photos didn,t come out very well as a lot of glass is used at the animal enclosures so got lot of reflections.
Lot of bamboo constricted views in some places but we know it is used for feeding the animals so that is understandable .Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exmoor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.