We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairway Hotel to your Saves list
Fairway Hotel
Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed in the hotel over the Easter weekend. Our room had a view over to the sea which we were not expecting. The room itself was clean, well furnished with an extremelly large onsuite. I've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels that have had smaller bathrooms.

The bar was great, they had a good pint. Always a bonus after a day on the hills.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
12
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Needed a place locally for a night this week and read some of the comments on this site. I have to say that there is absolutely nothing wrong with this accommodation. Clean, spacious room, quiet, comfortable bed, overlooking a driving range, good TV channels, including Sky Sports. The shower cubicle was pristine. What more do you need?

If I was being piclky, the taps in the basin got on my nerves (they are the push timer type ones you get in motorway services) and my breakfast sausage could have been a bit tastier. Otherwise, do not be put off. I would stay here again given the chance. Good value (very).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009 via mobile

Not a bad place, just very average. Nice big rooms, but no shower (bath only, maybe just a room 8 thing...) only complementary shampoo and bar of soap, no shower gel means a trip to azda is in order.

Restaurant average too.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank-you for your comments, as you can see from an earlier response to a review we do not have baths with showers over them, but you can request a room with a power shower if you prefer. We also provide complimentary shampoo, hair & body wash and soap and as you mentioned, at the Abbey House Hotel you receive shower gel and soap. As you can appreicate the Abbey House Hotel's tarrif is considerably more than our £55 B&B tariff. We do aim to ensure that everyone has a comfortable stay and we are sorry that on this occasion you did not.
We have noted your comments and if you would like to bring anything further to our attention please do not hesitate to email me on enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, Essex - GB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stayed here in June on walking for softies holiday. The hotel was a good family run hotel, the rooms were very clean & beds comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was good basic fair. Hotel was a little isolated but had a nice bar & uptairs lounge.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. When you next have reason to visit cumbria, please feel free to contact me.
enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Karen Allenby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed three nights in Room 8.
The sleeping accommodation and food was satisfactory and the staff were very obliging. However, when I pointed out that there was no showering facility or means of washing our hair I was told "Nobody has complained about it before."
I found this unbelievable and it reminded me of what one could expect of a pre-1970s Italian budget hotel.
It is sad really as, with a little effort, it could have been an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, manger at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
I would just like to say how disappointed I was to read your comments.
I believe your complaint was due to the lack of shower attachment over your bath, and when you requested one from reception the response you received was not to your satisfaction.
The Fairway Hotel has 42 bedrooms, 37 of which have walk in power showers and 5 have baths. We do not supply showers over baths due to Health & Safety regulations. Every guest has the opportunity to request a room of thier prefered choice of bath or shower.
Whilst I acknowledge your dissatisfaction with one member of staff (whom I do not know the identiy of,) you stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. If you had asked to see me I would have done my upmost to change your room so you had a shower, but you didn't give me the opportunity to rectify any issues you had. With this in mind I find it disappointing that you found it neccasary to record the issues on trip advisor and make derogatory comments about the hotel bedrooms.
The Fairway Hotel was insepcted and passed to 3 * RAC standard, (when they were inspecting and rating hotels.) We are also regulary insepcted by the Cumbia Tourist Board. I will stand by our rooms and believe them to be equal if not better than the majority of hotels in Cumbria and welcome any prosepective guests to view the hotel and bedrooms anytime.
We endevour to ensure each guest who stays at the hotel has an enjoyable and relaxing stay and welcome constructive criticsm but feel your comments are not reflective of your stay.
If you would to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Wonderful Hotel, set just outside Barrow in Furness, Rooms are excellent half of them are on ground floor, Excellent restaurant , food extremely good.Small comfortable bar, Staff are very friendly giving the Hotel a very homely feeling.

Attached to the Hotel is a Golf Driving range and a 9 hole golf course.

Easy acces to Lake district from hotel.

  • Liked — Every thing with hotel is first rate
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. When you next have reason to visit Cumbria, please feel free to contact me.
enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Kind regards Karen Allenby
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Visiting this Hotel with a coach company for a Lake District break , The Hotel rooms were very large and comfortable and the whole stay was a pleasure .The staff really do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and it certainly was as the food was excellent. The Hotel is a little isolated but has a nice bar area and is in a lovely location , well worth a visit - Gary- Leicester.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. When you next have reason to visit Cumbria, please feel free to contact me.
enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Kind regards
Karen Allenby
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.