We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel to your Saves list
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This has been my second stay on business in Barrow. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are well equipped without being cluttered. The food offered in the evening is reasonable and well presented. It is expensive for where and what it is, but safe. Would recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    79
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
100
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited the Duke on 1st November.Upon check in was immeadiatly without any prompting upgraded from standard to an Exec Double...great start!!!. The room was fantastic bathroom looked like the centre fold of a upmarket property magazine....and the bed was the size of a tennis court and very comfortable....all usual refinements in room....The bar area is good with a huge selection of beers ales lagers etc...and also a vodka menu....Heaven!!.....As my visit was of a certain nature wining and dining was a must so upon asking for reccomendations in town I was given honest courteous advice with the added "Have you considered our resteraunt which was described as excellent...On the strength of this I duly booked a table for two.....smart move the food and service was excellent....a service and quality standard was rapidly emerging here...Upon finishing our meal we were politely advised that the basement bar had luve entertainment that evening.....So again I heeded the prompt....and guess what??? Great band playing in a very cosy well furnished venue...tgere was a great vibe down there and unsurprisingly the survice was top drawer....very talented bartender i may add...In a nutshell if your in Barrow look no further yes its a touch pricier than a travelodge but this place compensates on an epic scale....Couldnt write this without saying thank you and well done to....Ryan...Taylor...The Hulk...(Chris)....Stacey ...Karen....Keith the charasmatic night porter.....and finally the beautiful Rachel and Tara....Oh musnt forget the lift which has a life of its own....and charachter to match.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We'd had three days in the Cumbrian countryside and wanted a couple of days in a city (big town). Wife had a show to see, I wanted to go karting and I was quite keen on a bit of sea fishing. Picked the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel as it was centrally located with parking. Probably weren't expecting much. We were brilliantly surprised. What a fantastic hotel. Probably aimed at my age group (30-50) I'd guess with the style of music, types of beer, the way it's decorated and all. Which was a bit of a difference after three days in Grasmere and Grange over Sands where I was growing tired of the colour pink and dried flowers. Our room was great. Views were "urban" but everything else was a step up from where we'd just left. WI-FI worked and was fast. What made it very special was the bar downstairs with 8 different real ales. Reminded us a lot of Tweedies in Grasmere, just not quite as rustic and a lot bigger. Also, though extemely busy, the hotel attracts a "nice" audience. All and all a pretty cool find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay and enjoyed every minute.
Parking is free in the hotel car park (spacious) just across the road.
We arrived early but our room was ready, we were upgraded at no expense.
Our room was spacious and spotless with all the right facilities.
The food was second to none and the staff were very obliging especially the young girl
at breakfast (Tara) she was so busy all the time but this didn't affect the service at all.
she is a credit to the hotel.
I asked the hotel manager to have the toilet looked at as it was hissing for hours on end after flushing (which kept us awake) but nothing was done - Room 211 ?
With the hotel being right on a busy main road , I would not recommend this hotel for families.
The shops and pubs are within walking distance and are very welcoming.
We will definitely be staying at this hotel again in the future and will be recommending this hotel to all our friends.
P.s there is a memorial statue of Emlyn Hughes facing the hotel which was nice to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Duke of Edinburgh for one night whilst on a business trip to Barrow. The hotel is well appointed and our room was very comfortable and kept to a high standard. There is a good bar, which has a great range of real ales, and served good food.

The service in the restaurant at breakfast this morning really let the hotel down. For hotels in the business market, as this one clearly is, 20 minutes - 30 minutes maximum - should be sufficient for breakfast. I went down to the restaurant at 7.30am, needing to leave the hotel at 8.15am to get to our meeting on time. I was greeted by a waiter who took my room number and, having served myself to cereals and fruit juice, I joined colleagues at one of the tables. From that point it was a full 15 minutes, despite asking, before a waitress came to my table and took my order. I was served coffee, but the full English failed to appear despite asking. I was promised it was just being plated up, but 5 minutes later I was forced to leave at 8.05am still with no breakfast in sight.

I complained at reception on checking out and was given the excuse that there had been a problem in the kitchen. It shouldn't have been my problem, but I was the one that went off to work hungry!

I will think twice before staying at this hotel again. Talking with colleagues who have stayed there before, slow service is a regular problem. The hotel needs to sort this out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in Windermere and wanted to return so inadvertently well by mistake booked this hotel as we drove into the area and realised our mistake we tried to cancel our rooms and head back to the lakes but time was against us so with trepidation we checked in , what a very pleasant surprise the rooms were really great ,clean,spacious,air on,,my room had a fabulous roll top bath and a Hugh walk in shower. The service was outstanding and the food in the bar was great,lovely choice and to finish off the breakfast was hot and delicious . What. Lucky find I truly hope this hotel goes on from strength to strength as the owners deserve it , as you know I'm in the industry so trust me and visit . I may want to visit the lakes but I'd stay here again Well Done

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything about the stay was excellent. We had a lovely room, when I said we had thought of eating in the hotel we were advised to book right away which we did and we were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and if ever in the area again I would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Completely re-invented over a six year period since 2006. The duke is now a luxury, town-centre hotel with thirty four en-suite rooms and suites, stylish cask ale bar, bistro restaurant, live music cellar bar and large banqueting function room. The hotel accommodation includes flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wi-fi, oversized beds, room service and stunning bathrooms. All our hotel guests get complimentary access to the Vaults live music bar (open Thurs-Sat). Located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station and only minutes from the Lake District by car or train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.