We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Majestic

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrow-in-Furness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Majestic
Save
You added The Hotel Majestic to your Saves list
Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Booked in by work during a business trip to Barrow. Stayed on the first floor which is lucky because the lift is always out of order. The rooms are clean, tidy with lovely bedding and fresh fluffy towels. Tea and coffee facilities are below the tv in a cupboard and the rooms benefit from free wifi. Breakfast is really good and Elaine always gives a warm welcome and ensures that your order is correct and prompt. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel, it is an Italian restaurant which serves good food at a reasonable price. The only criticism is that the rooms can be a bit on the small side (especially the bathroom), although for sleeping this isn't a problem, and they are starting to show signs of a little wear and tear (guess that's due to the popularity of the hotel). Lastly the parking can be a bit tight if your arrive later in the day. Overall this a great hotel that provides what you require at good value for money.

Room Tip: Apparently room 105 is larger and has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    61
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
26
57
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the majestic during the first bank holiday weekend in may 2013 for two nights. We got a cracking deal so it was a no brainer for the money and right in the centre of town.
Positives
Friendly staff
Good breakfast
Centre of town location
Free parking
Great value for money
Nice towels
Noted that their restaurant was very busy in the evening (though we didn't eat there)

Negatives
Very dated and in real need of some renovating/updating
Bathroom in our room was very small
City centre location may not suit some due to noise from the local nightlife (didn't bother us though)

Definetly better value and more character than the local travelodge so if value is what you are after you can't go far wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the roundabout and nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and thought it was excellent value for money, Found the staff very friendly and helpful, The rooms were lovely and clean, nice white fluffy towels Tea and coffee facilitys, Comfy bed although we did find this a small double, lovely clean bathroom, the down side to the room was that we were on the 3rd floor and the lift was broken but kept us fit! also our room was at the back of the hotel so we heard the church clock strike every 15minutes, also the couple we traveled with there room was on the front of the hotel and unfortunatly they had the noise of the night club customers leaving. The breakfasts were excelent, would stay at this hotel again as its value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights while doing the Coniston to Barrow walk. My friend and I stayed in a family room,cannot fault the value for money. The cleaners were so nice and friendly,on the Sunday when we were in agony after they walk,they left us lots of extra teabags and milk,so a HUGE thank you to them. All the staff are really helpful and friendly. The food in Francesca's is nice,and good value. The breakfast was fine,lots of choice and served with a smile.
I would 100% stay here again. The only negatives I have is,we were on the second floor and the lift was out of order,which made for rather painful trips up and down the stairs after a 23 mile walk, also the clock outside is annoying. (I know they can't do anything about it but....) But I would stay here again,definite value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a single and a double room what amazing value for money. The breakfast was brilliant and the total bill for the 3 of us was £140. Value for money and some !the staff were friendly and helpful. Francesca's restaurant on ground floor superb food and value Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Typicsl 'white van man' hotel with inexpensive rooms, but pretty basic with old fashioned single glazing.

The lift is broken, so avoid the third floor if you have lots of luggage!

The rooms are stuffy with the only ventilation via the old fashioned single glazed windows. However, when the 'nightclub' kicks off at midnight until well past 3 am, opening a window isnt an option! Having said that, closing the windows does little to drown out the 'boom boom' and patrons outside the nightclub shouting & swearing until well past 3am.

Evening meals are nice in the Italian themed restaurant, however breakfast is dire affair.

If your looking for a good nights sleep, I'd avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my husband on a sat night. The hotel is located in the town centre and plenty of free parking. Staff were pleasant, but service was slow at times. This was especially so at breakfast. Waited 15mins to get our order taken. However, when it did finally arrive it was really good! Great quality, portion size and taste. It was a moderately warm day outside c15 degrees, and the hotel was so warm and stuffy inside. Some of the radiators were on the corridors which was bizarre. Everywhere was hot, and I didn't see 1 open window! Mainly because they couldn't ope. Our room was hot, and we could only open the window an inch. My parents had a room that was stifling hotel, and the windows didnt open at all. luckily, the hotel moved them, and they got a much cooler room with windows that would open. This hotel will be like a sauna in the summer! Our room was clean, spacious and a modern new bathroom! For £40 we thought it was excellent value, but the hot atmosphere and slow service let it down, so I would give it a good! I don't think we would stay again, as we prefer another hotel in Barrow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Majestic

Address: Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.