We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, ruined weekend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrose Hotel

Ambrose Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ambrose Hotel to your Saves list
Ambrose Hotel
Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1XT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Halifax
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, ruined weekend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Go to a different hotel! This one is in poor condition from the outside weeds were growing out of the brickwork and litter was outside the door. The area it's located in is industrial and run down. Inside smelt old and musty although looks clean, had to go find another hotel. Staff unhelpful and dispite not staying there, they said would refund us but then later refused. Very unhappy!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I went there with my family and we really enjoyed our stay. The only thing is that I was there with my grandparents and our room was at the third floor and it was a bit difficult for them to reach the room. Also, I couldn't reach the wifi from that room as well. For all the rest the hotel is pretty nice. It's above a pub, so it's easy if you want to go down for a pint. Breakfast was really nice and generous (both english and continental). Room was really big and clean. If you're planning to go to lake District I would suggest another hotel because it's a bit far. But the hotel itself it's great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Positives. The room was very big and had proper beds. We stay two adults, two children they each had a single bed . Room 8. Breakfast was cooked fresh and was lovely and server was pleasant and friendly.

Negatives Room very cold and no heating on.

Room was dirty even had stains on carpet and not in one place.

Very undated and furniture was all damaged.


Not sure if other rooms are any better as didn't see any however the reviews so far do not compare to our experience at the Ambrose.

Disappointed as my husband only had the weekend off and it was ruined by staying here which I only did because of previous reviews.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a family room which was very spacious, with two single beds & one double bed. Great size bathroom. Fantastic breakfast with a great choice. Staff & locals very friendly & we were made to feel very welcome. Special thank you to Denise :-)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here with workmates for two nights, excellent food at amazing prices, friendly and helpful staff, clean up to date rooms, nice and quiet location too.
Set the fire alarm of by mistake :-/ wasn't a problem though.
Give this lovely little place a try.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Friendly enough staff. This hotel is in a reasonable location. It is basically a pub with 10 or so rooms upstairs. My room was quite basic, bed was ok although not the comfiest.

Was a choice of a few evening meals, and a cooked breakfast.

Would stay again if just 1-2 nights.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms. Live bands and karaoke so no need to go looking for entertainment. Friendly locals always willing to participate in conversation. Staff were extremely accommodating and very warm and friendly. A fantastic breakfast, will definitely be returning and recommend highly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrose Hotel

Address: Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Barrow In Furness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.