We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly Made Traditional Chinese Food Buffet is Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panda Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panda Garden
Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1RD, England
01229 871 222
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Freshly Made Traditional Chinese Food Buffet is Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

There is a good choice of food that appears to be freshly made as opposed to being bought in-and is delicious, specially the vegetables.
Some of the other reviews mention the decor; it is actually a very authentic interior of the style that can be seen in restaurants in mainland China.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very nice buffet restaurant. The food is always lovely with a good variety and the prices are great. The staff are always friendly and prompt. The only bad thing is the poor decor

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“don,t mistake value for money for excellent food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have eaten at the panda on 2occasions, duemainly to feviews on trip advisor. I must admit I expected a bit more. The decoration of the restaurant was basic andlackec atmosphere. The buffet was well stocked and hot. A few labels indicating what the dishes were would have been helpful. Drinks very reasonably priced.staff friendly and helpful.
If you want average take away type food at a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Buffet Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I visit the panda garden quite often and usually go for the buffet. The food is always delicious and hot and they always keep the trays of food refilled. They could do with a bit more variety as they seem to just serve the same dishes and at this stage I would like to see some different dishes on the menu rather than the same ones all the time. As of late we have not visited as much as we used to because my husband got bored of the same food being served. Overall its a nice restaurant, the staff are very friendly and for the price its well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“1st & last time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

21 in the party (pre booked) where to start? 1 soup the others were empty, I stood & waited a number of minutes & when I asked was told it was being made, yes good that it was fresh but honestly they new they had a large party coming so why not make ahead? There was not enough choice of starters or mains & desert consisted of very thin sliced Swiss roll or ice cream. There was nothing to say what the food was so heaven help anyone who had an allergy or was vegetarian. The service was very slow ie clearing of used plates from the table serving of drinks.
When the food trays did get filled up it was brought out in small plastic "washing up" bowls! Jade Fountain from now on! The room had no welcome about it, the decor looking very tired.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panda Garden also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to Panda Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panda Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.