We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francescas

Francescas
Majestic Hotel Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1HP, England
01229823383
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to francescas while stopping over for Valentines day, it has a very nice atmosphere and the staff are welcoming. The food comes in good sized portions and is very tasty. Best of all, the prices are low. We would definately reccomend it to anyone wanting a nice meal out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    74
    34
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Truly scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

After the "scrumptious" evening in December with work colleagues, I just had to return with my daughter, and it was as good as the first visit. The staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for you, faultless. It was a Tuesday night and I was surprised at how busy it was. The food was excellent, very generous portions and well cooked, faultless. We had a lovely meal to celebrate my birthday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham - England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very busy, a good sign! Good value for money and tasty food. Excellent waiting staff,nothing too much trouble

Lust as helpful when we also ordered take out

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, Cumbria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very nice and welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After reading most of the comments on TA relating to this restaurant, I thought I would put my 2 and 4 pence worth in.

My wife and I have been coming to this place as far back when it was called Chevita's and owned by a different company, abeit from the North East too. In my opinion, the staff cannot bt faulted, efficient, courteous and above all, friendly! So the 'rude' comments proffered by some customers somewhat perplexes me!? I am of the belief that if you treat people the way 'you' would like to be treated, so won't go far wrong!

As for the food, well there can be a slight variation in the way certain dishes are cooked, as the cooking staff obviously changes from shift to shift. But all I can say is that I have not had a bad meal there in the 3 or so years I have been going. In fact, last Tuesday night, we went quite late, as we had been to the cinema first. We probably had the best meal that I can remember...the spag bol was perfect as was my wife's Pollo Sicilia too! I defy anyone to get a meal of this quality plus a garlic pizza and a quality bottle of house wine for circa £25 anywhere else in the area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I think it's a good sign when a restaurant is always busy. I've been there 3 times in the past 3 months and every time the food has been excellent.
The only problem was that we've had to wait even when we had booked, but just before Christmas we'd boked a table for 12 and had pre-ordered. As they were so late they kindly offered 3 bottles of wine as an apology which I thought was a nice touch as they didn't have to.
The food is great, typically italian and much better than other italian in Barrow!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francescas also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to Francescas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francescas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.