We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Night-Cavendish Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey House Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Party Night-Cavendish Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All round excellent night. It was a work Christmas do for 10 people. We usually try somewhere different each year but will be returning here next year. The event was well staffed and the staff were all friendly and helpful. There were staff to greet you, hang up your coats etc. We had one large round table for the 10 of us which was lovely and the music was kept quite low during the meal so we could all talk. The food was excellent perhaps a little on the cold side but that didn't spoil things. After the meal, the band 'My Mate Kate' came on and everyone was up dancing right from their first song. They did covers from 60s up to current day and they were really good. We left at 12.30am so a good night had by all! Only real negative was the price of the drinks. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    20
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
44
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Terrible experience!. Waited 2 hours for our main meal to arrive, cold food and felt like we were a burden all night. Had to ask numerous times for our drinks and food. Wrote an email to the hotel to explain and got a reply stating that it was due to also having large parties in on the same night. We booked this months ago so this was no a good enough excuse for appalling service. My friends have been before and the same meals that came out were soooo much smaller that before. How can you get away with this and expect people to pay the same price.
When the bill came they tried to charge us full price even though we had already paid deposits weeks ago. We didn't realise until after the event so had to return to claim this back.
Beautiful setting, but people, do not expect a high level of service.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just got back from a 5 day break to this wonderful hotel. We were welcomed from the time we arrived to the time we departed.
The food was fantastic, the location was beautiful and the accommodation was amazing, the thing that made the whole break so superb was the staff, a special mention to Ryan Fletcher the head barman, his warmth to us was so nice, also a special mention to Sian a fantastic waitress.
We would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a two night weekend stay through a deal with Secret Escapes which included dinner, bed and breakfast.
An interesting building that has recently undergone major refurbishment and decoration so everything is still fairly fresh and in very good order.
The entrance and grounds were festooned with christmas lights and decorations which made it very festive.
Attached to the main part of the building is a more recent extension which appears to be used for weddings and other large functions, this incorporates a very large function room called the Cavendish Suite, bars and two floors of rooms.
Although there were no weddings or large functions taking place during our stay it is apparent that these facilities appear to be very good and no doubt will make this a very popular wedding destination locally.
We stayed in the old and main part of the building where we found the bedroom to be very comfortable, nicely decorated and with good facilities such as very large TV and a good sized en-suite.
However rooms directly above the bar and Oscars Restaurant can be very noisy with the music and chatter been easily heard well into the night.
All staff we encountered were helpful and polite and any issue raised was promptly addressed and resolved.
We dined both nights in Oscars which is more a Bistro than a restaurant, it is only very small and random in layout. Oscars dining areas include being sat in the bar area on tables (Including high tables with bar stools) and between faux leather stable type partitions, and then from there you enter a very small dining room which again has tables and stable division partitions between diners, there are then some further tables in the corridor leading into a room called the Garden Room. On our first night we were seated in this corridor and we asked to be moved as it was not really an appropriate place to sit due to the traffic of people walking past your table from the kitchen between both the dinning room and the garden room, staff obliged our request without issue. This area is set out with the cold buffet at breakfast time and really is not suitable to be used for diners.
There is no dedicated menu for dinner and you choose from the menu that is used throughout the day with the addition of a couple of specials notified separately.
The food was okay although on our first night some of the dishes were only just warm.
There is a sound system throughout the dinning area and the music was really just a little too loud to be called background music and the modern disco tunes perhaps not to everyones tastes, this sound also travels to the bedrooms above and can be easily heard.
Breakfast was served in Oscars and provides an excellent selection of cold cuts, fresh fruit salad and cooked breakfast.
Apart from Oscars there appear to be other dinning areas which seem to reserved for private functions, these include the Great Hall and a Garden Room. The Great Hall is very much wasted as this would make a lovely intimate restaurant for residents.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay which we felt well worth the special deal through Secret Escapes.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly above the bar and Oscars due to noise from background music and customers talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
thanks very much indeed for your kind review, our new relationship with Secret Escapes has gone very well indeed, although the best rates can always be achieved direct with us!
I was glad to read your overall stay was an enjoyable one and were certainly looking into the noise issues you encountered.
Following our chat on check out, I look forward to welcoming you back to Abbey House HOtel & Gardens very soon.
Warm Regards & Merry Christmas
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked special offer for group of us
couldn't fault yet again John Horton is brilliant the hotel food just gets better
had our daughters wedding here in may could not fault yet again standards are
better rooms are better guarantee you wont be disappointed
make sure you have room for breakfast !!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mike,
Thanks very much indeed for your kind review, it was great to see you all back at Abbey House Hotel & Gardens! We still talk about the wedding day and it's always a pleasure to look after your family.
Hope to see you all again very soon.
Merry Christmas
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about this hotel is outstanding. Even on a grey November day the approach is beautiful, especially with the Christmas lights. Service is impeccable. Room spotless and comfortable. First Class breakfast. Beautiful grounds to walk around and the ruins of Furness Abbey a short walk away.

A wonderful place to relax and be looked after. Good base to explore the South Western Lake District.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks very much indeed for your wonderful review, much appreciated.
I'm glad you had an excellent stay at Abbey House Hotel & Gardens and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Merry Christmas
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a hotel for the night as we attended a family celebration in Barrow. My sister spotted a special offer rate and we plumped for the Abbey House. Hotel was wonderful,beautiful setting right next to the Abbey and the staff were fantastic. Ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Rooms were spotless,great view and sky sports in the room as well.
Worth every penny we paid,I would definitely stay here again even if we had to pay the full rate.
Top marks !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks very much indeed for your kind review.
Our accommodation, following the multi-million pound refurbishment offers quality luxury accommodation with all the value added extras included! Oscar's is a great place to dine and I'm glad to read you had a great all round experience.
Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for the best value rates guaranteed.
Warm Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel & Gardens has recently undergone a multi million refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey House Hotel Barrow-In-Furness
Abbey Hotel Barrow In Furness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.