We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and a wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Strawberry Bank | Cartmel Fell, Bowness-on-Windermere LA11 6NW, England
015395 68486
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Food and a wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Having heard good reports about this place we felt we had to try it whilst staying close by. We called in a couple of times for drinks late afternoon and the atmosphere was so welcoming and cosy. We booked a table for boxing day evening and were not dissappointed by the food nor the service which was attentive but not intrusive. The menu was varied, prices reasonable and it was good to be able to have lighter portions so as to leave just enough room for a pudding! Overall the food was excellent and it was a perfect evening.
Just a shame they were no longer giving out their vouchers as advertised on their website apparently they had run out!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    75
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Firstr rate food in a real pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Thje Mason's Arms manages superbly the fine balance between being a pub and a restaurant. The quality of the food qualifies it for the title of gastropub but it manages to retain a real "old-fashioned" pub atmosphere, as well as selling well-kept real ales. I cannot recommend it too highly for its cooking and presentation of food. Pub standards such as steak and kidney pie, fish & chips, local duck and lamb, steaks all appear on the menu along with seabass and vegetarian options, and the daily specials offer more imaginative choices. Out of the way, perhaps, but well worth searching for. Be prepared to spend more than your average pub meal, though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Left feeling let down!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had a fantastic meal here last year so decided to return for a special occasion, We reserved a table for 18.30 on a Thursday night, when we arrived we were seated upstairs and told someone would come to take our drinks order and bring our menus 25 mins later I had to go to the bar no apology just we will be there in a minute. Ordered food and this was not great quality and from ordering to getting our main it was nearly 2 hours so our hungar had gone!!!! Complained to the gentleman behind the bar and again no apology just we are busy. Will not return to what once was a great place. Decided to try pub just down the road and have never looked back since proper valued service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW... just wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

THE. NICEST. FOOD. I was just blown away by how brilliant the food was for such a little pub! but then again, its was brimming with customers, and we'd heard such good reviews i should have expected it! if you have a car and the time and patience to go driving around the wilderness of the lake district DO call off at this little gem cause i will be certainly going again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Whats gone wrong?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

O dear!! Tiny portions compared to early in the year when I would have rated it at excellent. Salad not as described i.e. half of it missing in both items and volume.

Only two real ales on tap!!

Sadly will be missed, we will not be returning after enjoying 10 or so good meals in 3 years and two very much less ones recently.

Please can we return to the old quality and service

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Masons Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.