We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Strawberry Bank | Cartmel Fell, Bowness-on-Windermere LA11 6NW, England
015395 68486
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have eaten here before... A few years ago and have stayed many times at the sister hotel The Tempest arms. All been good. We booked a table at 7 last Thursday. We turned up, the place was busy. Things didn't start well when we had to wait 5 mins at the bar before being acknowledged. Lots of staff, no managers all running around but actually not getting anywhere. The dining room upstairs was extremely stuffy and hot. The down lighters made it unpleasant so we eventually moved . The place was noticeable by a lack of atmosphere. Service was slow, although the waiting staff were pleasant and apologized . Food was ok... Nothing special. We ate at the nearby punchbowl in crosthwaite the next day and would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    75
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little treasure !!! Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Beautiful place, cosy , excellent service and the best meal we have ever eaten .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Friendly staff. Fabulous food. Really well-cooked. Dined here many times. Never been disappointed. Great for families - caters for all.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is more than a gastro pub as it oozes character but it is more a restaurant than pub. The food is excellent with a good selection of beers and wines. Need to book as busy. Some good walks locally otherwise off the beaten track.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Pub we have ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wow, if you like quality real ales, real food that excellent then this is the place for you. The pub is set in the most beautiful setting you may ever see, it is in the Cartmel Valley and when there you are overlooking it all. The bar area is small but they have made the outside a good size area, all covered over. The eating area is large as it goes upstairs. The staff are great and nothing is to much trouble. You can tell they are trained as the standard is the same with them all.You can stay over which we have not done but it all looks top notch. We have been a few times and it always meets our standards. Its a must go if your in the lakes

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Masons Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.