We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Pub in Windermere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Strawberry Bank | Cartmel Fell, Bowness-on-Windermere LA11 6NW, England
015395 68486
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“best Pub in Windermere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My Wife & I ended up going to the Mason Arms 3 nights ago. This is one of the best pubs I have been to. Great Food & great selection of Beers & Ales. Staff are really friendly as are the customers.

It's a real traditional Pub set in lovely surroundings.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    37
    8
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Large group - Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked a large table upstairs for a birthday party, which included children. The service, food and experience was all first rate. As regulars to the bar area downstairs we all felt the upstairs was better for a larger group, though would need to be booked well in advance. Some in the group had been disappointed when they last visited the Mason Arms but either they had been unlucky or else the problems have been resolved since the visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We visited the Masons Arms on a recommendation & the worst part was finding it, but persevere it is well worth searching for. The food was excellent, & made better by the wonderful Jeff who made our wedding anniversary that bit more special with his attentive professional service.

Just one minor point , the gorgeous sticky ribs should have a finger bowl delivered to the table as I'm sure everyone who had this dish would need one. Jeff though duly obliged.

Thank you Masons Arms & thank you Jeff for making our night special.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“as always, a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Always keep finding excuses to visit the masons arms. Out of the way for us but when in the area we go here for a drink and food. The beer selection is worth travelling here for with the food a bonus. Sitting outside on a nice day doesn't get better choosing which ale to sink next. The food is plenty varied from curries, beef in ale to homemade soups and sandwiches hand cut. Make sure you invite a teatotal driver along with you. Party on!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding food and so peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Fairly easy to get to and close to bowness. Yet far enough away that the location is tranquil and peaceful. The food and accommodation is excellent with a relaxed atmosphere.sure to visit this place again and again. I would also recommend the tempest arms near colne. It is part of the same group. I think they are called individual inns.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Masons Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.