We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great pub with large portions and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albert Hotel

The Albert Hotel
Queens Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2BY, England
01539443241
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
St Annes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Great pub with large portions and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A real good pub serving good pub food with huge portions for the prices. The pub is always busy but service is never slow. The perfect place to eat after a long walk on the fells. They have an extensive range of drinks with local ales well represented all courses are huge the fish and chips being especially so, even the cheese board is enough for two.
The best pub in Bowness bar non.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    241
    57
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“b an b”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we stayed there and down stairs is fine but the rooms need tlc! the food looks nice but so much of it it puts me off breakfast is nice

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Promised a lot delivered little”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I popped in here for a light lunch, the outside is very welcoming and the lunch menu seemed very appealing. The bar/restaurant area was very clean and tidy and welcoming. The bar man was very friendly and chatty. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and a baked potato with prawn marie rose, and a club sandwich. While sat waiting for our food we couldn't help noticing other peoples orders which looked nice, which sadly only compounded our dissapointment when our food arrived. The club sandwich was just three slices of average shop bought white bread coated heavily with marg spread, the filling consisted of thick bland oversized pieces of chicken and ham and sliced tomato, Ihave had club sandwiches before and this was a long way off what I was expecting, no seasoning, no salad, no toasting of bread, I was shocked that they actually had the nerve to offer this as a club sandwich. The baked potato was overcooked, causing it to be tough and bland and the filling was average. With so many other places to eat in Bowness I would recommend giving this one a miss. We certainly will be next time we visit this beautiful part of the country.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

we had burger and the lamb dinner it was very nice food and the staff were friendly. close to our hotel and in walking distance

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great if you are hungry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good portions, well cooked with a nice twists on the standard pub grub. We ate there on 3 evenings. Normally ordered just before 18:00. There is a smaller choice of specials but the quality & service was very good. The only mistake they made was on out last night when they served up a starter instead of a desert. It was rectified. what was servered by mistake looked very nice indeed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert Hotel also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.