We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's

Roberto's
8 Queens Square Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BY, England
015394 43535
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We struggled to get a table the night before but glad we persevered as this is a lovely little place. The restaurant is authentically Mediterranean and has a very relaxed atmosphere. When we arrived it was quiet - 5pm - but it soon filled up so would recommend you book a table. Our 5 year old was made to feel very welcome but most importantly the food was lovely. We had the tapas and everything was cooked and tasted wonderful. Will definitely go again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    141
    38
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Maybe my fault but I got the impression this was something to look forward to. Not really. Just a very small Italian with a very small and quite unadventurous menu with too few staff to make the experience enjoyable. The food was decent but we're talking pizza and mainstream pasta with the odd few specials. Not suitable for anything other than an average meal...I wouldn't recommend booking for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service & delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A cosy little diner serving delicious food that caters for all palettes. We had outstanding service from Linda and the food was an absolute treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Good choice on menu. excellent food and atmosphere. Friendly, cheerful staff. Located conveniently in the town centre near the lake.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Non-starter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We called to make a reservation for that day, the call was answered very abruptly by the manager. When asked if we could book before 6, we were told it was just 'pot luck' to get a table then. We persevered and made a booking for 6:15. The manager then ended the conversation by simply hanging up.
Needless to say we didn't go to the booking and received a rather unfriendly voicemail as a result.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Roberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.