We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude and service by a senior member of staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Positano

Villa Positano
Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 45663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible attitude and service by a senior member of staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We always visit this restaurant whilst staying at Bo'ness . This time our food order came within minutes which made us concerned as both dishes were cold . It was a early meal and we apprrciate it is a family restaurant however as a couple we were placed near three families with very loud children . The staff did not ask us how our meal was until we asked for the bill . Then when we tried to sensitively say our views about the food , he said what do you want me to do and walked away. On return to the Hotel I rang and the same man said I could not speak to a senior member of staff until the manager returns in 5 weeks and then said I do not want to speak to you and hung up . We will never return and would advise other couples wanting a nice meal to visit the other Italian restaurant which is close by. Terrible experiance , cold meal and inexcusable attitude and service .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    130
    56
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great place to eat. Food is very good, staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Ideal location in the middle of town near good pubs. Will defo go back next time we visit. Good recommendation from guest house owner.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great service, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited during our first night in Bowness and glad we did. Service was excellent, our wine was topped up regularly and all staff checked each course was to our satisfaction. My wife had garlic mushrooms to start which were very fresh and tasty whilst I had brushetta. My beef fillet stroganoff was lovely although a little more rice would have been good. My wife had chicken parmigiana and asked for spaghetti instead of veg all of which were nicely cooked. Would recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Service by Perfect Gentlemen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As a group of four, we walked in from a day's walking mid week on spec, and were shown to a table on the first floor. A light, airy room with sky lights, tiled floor, painted walls with "local Italian" decorations. It felt like being on an Italian balcony! Really nice.

The three waiters were all busily hurrying around, but all greeted us on entry and ensured we were comfortably sat with menus before continuing with orders elsewhere.

The pasta, chicken and pizza dishes our party ordered were very good value for money, decent size, nicely presented and perfectly cooked with excellent flavour. My personal obsession is to grade an Italian restaurant by the quality of their Tiramisu....Villa Positano pass with flying colours!

The waiters were all attentive without being intrusive and for the various questions we had about the menu were superb in explaining clearly. Even to the extent of ordering a taxi for us which pulled up outside AS we were leaving (not sure if that was by luck or by arrangement!)

Overall, the meal was like being invited to someone's home to share in their locally sourced recipes, with a great atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I really love this restaurant the food is amazing I love the aumbiance. Its a great place to go for special occasions with large groups.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Positano also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Villa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.