We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Positano

Villa Positano
Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 45663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great food in a cosy little place. Good value for money.
Would definitely visit again if ever in Bowness.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    130
    56
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feltham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Me and my wife ate here and had a terrific meal. We went to one Italian at the top of the hill but they said they had no tables available and outright refused to say if we could wait, very rude but the Villa Positano were brilliant. With it being Easter most restaurants were fully booked, as was the Villa but the lady who served us (I think she was the owners wife) said they were fully booked and then asked us to wait a moment and said if we wanted to wait up in the bar we could be seated in around 30 minutes and we said that was fine, in fact we were seated within 10 minutes
We had a 3 course meal which was beautiful and delicious and very well priced, this was an amazing Italian, and the profiteroles were stunning
Very highly recommend eating here, next time we are in the Lakes definitely be going back

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“pretty poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very busy on arrival, sent upstairs to bar. barman completely ignored us and group that followed. Not the best of starts. My starter was over cooked but the main we had was ok. Overall not impressed, these guys need to try harder!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good atmosphere but the food was of poor quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff were good, the atmosphere was good but the food was disappointing. The food came very quickly considering we'd ordered lasagne, which was very bland. The dessert had been bought in and not made in house too. Overall I wouldn't be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stumbled up Villa Postano whilst meandering throughout Bowness, the menu looked interesting with a good selection of vegetarian dishes for my partner. We checked trip advisor shortly after and booked as the reviews were. Very good.
This was a great choice the starters were tasty and the mains better still, my partner said her pizza was one of the best she had ever had. We finished the night on a high as desert was fantastic also.
All I can say is well done keep it up and we'll see you next time were in Bowness

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Positano also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Villa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.