We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Positano

Villa Positano
Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 45663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The owners and the staff make you so welcome. The food is good and it's a great place for an evening out with friends. Whether you just have a pizza or a full meal with wine you are just as welcome and the service is good. Our favourite place when we are in the Lake District. Prices are sensible. Sitting downstairs is preferable with the ambience created by the buzz about the place although the service is just as good upstairs. In all, excellent family run restaurant. Thank you.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    130
    56
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Decided to go here on a Saturday evening. We hadn't booked, but the manager got us a table but said we had to be done by 8:30. Fair enough. That gave us 2 hours which was fine.
Service was efficient and friendly, the place has a lot of atmosphere (it was packed), it was clean although maybe a touch cramped. Perhaps 'cosy' would be a better description.
Anyway, we had garlic bread with cheese to start. I was expecting a couple of doorstep slices but am delighted to say we got lovely thin bread, the size of a pizza and it was delicious.
Mains were seafood linguini (really seafood-y), spaghetti carbonara (delicious) and chicken and mushroom tagliatelle (also fantastic).
Good varied choice of dishes on the menu plus a specials board.
I give it 4 stars because we didn't have dessert, but if they are as good as everything else, it will most certainly be a 5.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wonderful authentic Italian atmosphere, it is a very cosy small restaurant with delicious food and attentive staff. We had 3 courses and it came to less than £40.
It is slightly cramped but that adds to the cosy Italian feel.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food plus atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Once again we visited this real gem of a restaurant, the owner greets with such a friendly manor that you just know you are in for a treat, the food is really good value for money, hot, tasty and with the real essence of Italy , a must if you are in Bowness.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Visited on a Friday night (15.11.13). Had looked at a few restaurants in the area and went for this one - great choice! Lovely quaint little restaurant, friendly helpful staff and good menu choice. Busy but no big waits for food and everything delicious. My husband took the waitresses recommendation and went for seafood spaghetti - he was not disappointed. It was packed full of sea food and delicious. My carbonara was amongst the best I've ever had and a gorgeous liquor coffee rounded the night off perfectly. Just over £50 total - for our bar bill, 2 courses each plus cheese garlic bread, a whisky and a liquor coffee - very good value, particularly for The Lakes. Don't miss out on a visit to this hidden gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Positano also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Villa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.