We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Positano

Villa Positano
Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 45663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stumbled upon Villa Positano while we were looking for somewhere to eat. Glad we did - the service was fantastic - they were very welcoming and attentive throughout the meal...and the food was yummy!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    130
    56
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tipton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“staff attentive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

couldnt decide where to eat , took a chance on positano and glad we did. very attentive staff, food tasty, large starters and mains, no room left for pud. not overpriced, lovely authentic italian food. will definately eat there again

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WHAT A JOKE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

1. Rude Owner
2. Over Priced
3. Very Bland Fod
4. Made To Feel Very Rushed
5. Small Portions (4 tiny prawns £6.80)
6. Can't Cook A Steak To Order

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, friendly staff and great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Not sure where some of the reviews are coming from here. This place does what it says on the tin. Good solid Italian food at a fair price served in a friendly manner. If you're looking for Michelin stars this isn't the place, if you're after Trattoria type food, good pasta etc then this place fits e bill perfectly

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bellamissio!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We were staying in Bowness at a top notch hotel, with a top restaurant (another nice story). For our last night, we fancied eating away from the hotel. A daytime trawl around the local establishments revealed a dearth of our type of restaurant.

Positano was a possibility however, especially after a recommendation from our waiter, but we were almost put off by reviews.

Imagine our surprise at finding top notch food, service, atmosphere, wine and price. We could not fault it and wonder at some of the expectations of previous reviewers??

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Positano also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Villa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.