We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, friendly staff, a caravan site with very high standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Save
You added Fallbarrow Park to your Saves list
Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful location, friendly staff, a caravan site with very high standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I paid a top end price for a standard caravan within Fallbarrow park and I was not dissaspointed. The location is so spot on in the center of Bowness and it was great not having to pay for a carpark everytime we went into town. The site itself is right on lake windermere it is beautiful. The caravan had all the utensils we required and it was clean even to my high standards, the shower and toilet was good although smelt a little and the living room had an excellent amount of space. The staff were very friendly and I really enjoyed my time here. The only critisms I would say was I expected abit more of an atmosphere within the site, some people may like the quiet but it would have been nice to see and hear other familys otherwise you can feel quite secluded. The price was more than what I would pay for a caravan holiday but this site is the creme de la creme of caravan sites so I can understand why it charged a little more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your recent review. Fallbarrow is indeed, a slice of heaven right in the middle of Bowness and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    51
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
95
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is my favourite place to be, amazing location and beautiful lodges. The views over Lake Windermere are unrivalled, and you cant help but relax when staying here. Staff are so friendly and the on site facilities (pub, shop, playground) are well thought out and maintained. I would live here if I could! The location is second to none, being right on the doorstep of Bowness on Windermere. Cant rate it highly enough, I would give 6 stars if I could!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely week in Fallbarrow. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed lodge L23. It was in a fantastic position on the park. The views were amazing and we loved every minute. Yes the park is quite expensive in comparison to some others, but you get what you pay for. It is beautifully maintained and in a fantastic location, being able to walk into Bowness is great, we left the car on many occasions and went out for the day on foot. The lodge was great, it had everything you would need and more. We will def be back. Thanks fallbarrow you have given us some lovely memories.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fallbarrow Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Myself, my husband and my family( 2 boys 13 & 10 yrs) stayed at Fallbarrow for 4 nights at the end of August. Being regular visitors to Bowness( we married here at The Old England in May earlier this year)we always passed the site and realised what a good location it was and booked a 3 bedroom traditional lodge. Check in was quite late, 4pm. and we were early so we were given a fob for the gate and asked to park in the park but return nearer 4pm, which wasn't a problem as we hadnt eaten so walked into the village for tea. We returned later after 4 and were given a welcome pack
with money off vouchers for the park
and various local attractions. We were allocated a lodge just off the car park in Treetops area (TT3), a little disappointing at first as we hoped for a lake view but it turned out to be lovely and not too far to walk into the village. The lodges are fantastically equipped far exceeding our expectations. There are plenty of on site facilities like pub, deli, shop, take away, but we tended to pop to the village for anything we needed as its literally 2 mins away! The site isn't huge but goes down to the lake and has a jetty area for dingies etc. The only disappointing thing was the cost of the passes to use the swimming pool at the nearby Whitecross site, £5 for children and £10 for adults, we only used it once so £30 a bit steep
for an hours swim! I would point out also if you are planning to bring bikes that there are ' no cycling' signs on the site
although people still rode their bikes.
Overall we loved it here , it's a brilliant base for exploring the lake district in a chilled out environment. We will
be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is only by hearing from our guests that we are able to improve on our already high standards. With regards to your lodge, Lakeview lodges are very limited so it is always advisable to call us to book as opposed to booking online. This way, we are able to facilitate any special requests you have. On a positive note, we are pleased that your expectations were exceeded with the lodge you were allocated. The charge for the leisure passes is for the duration of your stay. So although you only used the pool once, you could have used the pool, sauna and gym and White Cross Bay as many times are you liked throughout your stay at Fallbarrow. With regards to cycling on park, we do not promote it – purely from a safety perspective.

To conclude, we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Remember to call us on 015395 69835 to ensure that Lakeview lodge and also to use your £50 loyalty discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Been to this holiday park during the 2012 August Bank Holiday. There were 6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids) and we booked a 'standard lodge' way back in February and it costs us around £550 for 3 nights. Based on our past experience of staying in log cabins in several holiday parks around the UK, I have to say that Fallbarrow Park is NOT value for money. From outside, the 'standard lodge' does look like a log cabin but inside it is nothing but a caravan. Internal walls are made of same material as the caravan and rooms are almost same size as what you would expect in a caravan. The worst bit is that there were only a single toilet for a accommodation of six! We stayed in a lodge called 'Gatehouse' and it was right at the main gate of the park. I must say that I was told during the booking that the accommodation is the first one in the park but I never realised that it would be that close to the main park entrance which will not give you the feeling that you are actually in the park! On a positive note the interiors of the accommodation was quite good though. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of utensils, cutleries and most importantly with a dish washer. My only regret is that we paid for a log cabin but instead got the feeling of staying in a luxurious caravan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with elements of your recent stay to Fallbarrow Park. It is very rare that we receive any negative comments with regards to Fallbarrow and the accommodation that we provide. If we do receive any complaints, they are taken very seriously.

The Gatehouse Lodge at Fallbarrow is a standard lodge and not a caravan. Makes, models and manufacturers of our lodges do vary so they are all different but we can assure you, The Gatehouse Lodge is definitely a lodge. We do not advertise that our standard lodges have two bathrooms so it would have been advisable for you to ask for this requirement if indeed, you needed it for your party.

With regards to the location of the lodge, we accept that we should of perhaps informed you of the location of the lodge during the booking process and for this we apologise. The Gatehouse Lodge is a very popular lodge as many families like to be near to the main complex but we accept that it is not ideal for everyone.

Again, our apologies that your short break at Fallbarrow Park was not everything you had expected. Should you decide to come and visit us again, which we sincerely hope you do, please contact our Reservations Manager directly on 015395 69835 and she will make all the necessary arrangements for you ensuring that you get all your specific requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a well kept caravan park located by the side of lake Windermere. The on site facilities include a cafe, a shop, a pub/restaurant and a lovely outdoor play area for the children. We have had many great holidays at this park and have stayed in both caravans and lodges and have found them all to be clean and well looked after. We will definitely be going again and would recommend it as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Fallbarrow is indeed one of our most popular holiday parks and we are glad that you and your family have enjoyed many happy holidays with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been visiting Fallbarrow Park for 30 years, since I was very small to our last visit in May this year with my one year old daughter, and I still absolutely love it.
The park is lovely, very clean and well maintained, with direct access onto the lake and it's stunning views. The caravans are cosy and well equipped with everything you'd need.
The park is lovely and peaceful but at the same time very close to the centre of Bowness and everything it has to offer -shops, cafes, lake, boat trips, walks and more. I doubt there's a better caravan park anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments with regards to your recent stay at Fallbarrow Park. Fallbarrow is a fantastic holiday park and in a great central location for exploring. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and remember to mention your £50 loyalty discount when rebooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Address: Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fallbarrow Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.