We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakfold House

Save Saved
You added Oakfold House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakfold House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Price Guaranteed
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have just returned from Oakfold House. No complaints even though the owners were away , the welcome was wonderful. Very organised breakfast times which I thought was great. The cleanliness was of a very high standard. My room the single was small but perfectly formed. Bathroom very modern and large shower. The breakfast was good too , would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    27
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
100
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a long weekend at Oakfold House and it was FAB!
The room was gorgeous, the bathroom spotless, the breakfast plentiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.
I couldn't fault it and will recommend it very highly to anyone who will listen!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just spent three nights at this amazing guest house, the welcome was lovely and the accommodation was brilliant. Clean room, well decorated and a very spacious bathroom. the breakfast was superb as was the hospitality. Close to lake Windermere with lots of shops and restaurants close by. It was our first visit to the lakes - but it wont be our last and we will hopefully be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are just back from 2 night in the Lake District. We loved it, place was lovely and clean, we had 2 dogs with us and it was no problem. The owners have 2 small dogs themselves so loved our retrievers. The only niggle was that the bathroom door was hard to close, but everything else was great, Michael makes a mean full english. He was also able to advise on restaurants that would accommodate the dogs and a local walk as the weather wasn't too good.
We went to the Village Inn one evening and the staff and patrons gushed over the dogs, the Royal Oak was also most welcoming and great food from both.
The town was lovely, very picturesque, would love to go back when the weather was nicer :).

Room Tip: I would recommend the superior king room, we were in room 1 and the bed and pillows were amazingly c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Michael and Michael at Oakfold House never fail to give the warmest welcome. We have stayed many times before and would not consider anywhere else in the Lakes to stay. Comfortable spotlessly clean bedrooms and an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Perfect location to explore the lakes. Just a 10 minute stroll to the water’s edge of Windermere and many good restaurants and pubs to choose from. This is a first rate B & B

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in August. Oakfold House was a truly magnificent old building, but the rooms were very modern and very, very clean. The bathroom was a very good size and the shower head had a very good flow. It was about a 10minute walk into Bowness, so was very handy to facilities. We had a very restful sleep and the following morning we had one of the best breakfasts we have eaten. Our stay at Oakfold House was very enjoyable and we would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. This is a great location, about 5-7mins walk from the Lake and heart of Bowness. Windermere is only about 15-20mins walk in the opposite direction. The B&B is clean and we got a good welcome. The breakfast is very good and the owners are very accomodating with your breakfast requirements. The rooms and bathroom are good. The only negative we found was the bed to be soft. Would highly recomend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakfold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Address: Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakfold House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.