We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views from the front ! central spot .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nagoya Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Nagoya Country House to your Saves list
The Nagoya Country House
Brackenfield, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely views from the front ! central spot .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here a night as part of a short weekend away at Bank holiday. It is clean and well appointed with lovely views over the lake from the front bedrooms .
We had a back bedroom which was perfectly comfortable and well appointed but as it was cold and windy we couldn't sit out. I was a bit dissappointed there was no lounge or area to sit in and take in the view indoors .The breakfast was very good however and the staff helpful so it is a good base for this part of the lakes

Room Tip: Ask for a front ,lake view as these rooms seemed the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Nagoya was best located in Bowness. A fantastic view to the lake which we enjoyed most and just a short walk to town. We enjoyed the breakfast thoroughly during our 3 night stay with the best quality food. I must say the quality of the breakfast was much better than some of 5 star hotels in London.
Room was clean with comfortable super king bed. The one thing I would like to point out is that the shower had less pressure I could not enjoy the shower in morning.
I would recommend to my friends and family without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay in bowness at this guest house, it was so peaceful and relaxing! Rooms were modern and clean and had a patio with a view of the lake in the distance, it wasn't very warm but still enjoyed sitting out each afternoon/evening on the patio even in the rain as the balcony above protected us, I bet it's gorgeous sitting out on a warm summers evening with a glass of wine! The owner Jenny and staff were brilliant and really friendly, they made us feel very welcome and always asked how I was as I'm pregnant which was a lovely touch! The breakfasts were beautiful too very fresh local produce and not greasy, fresh coffee, cereals, fruit juice and toast also provided! You also get unlimited free wifi and unlimited use of the spa down the road which we never got round to using! We are hoping to come back here next year with the baby and stay in the larger family suite, can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed one night as part of an organized walking tour, and I was sorry to leave. Very clean and modern, set high above Lake Windermere (with a view) and set pleasantly apart from the bustle of Bowness. Just a short walk from the shops, pubs and several very good restaurants, but also convenient for a pre-breakfast walk (about 45 minutes) to Post Knott and Brant Fell, which offers fine views over the lake. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed -- very pretty but not fussy or frilly. Friendly and welcoming staff, who gave us information about boat excursions and schedules and served a delicious breakfast. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed just the one night on a last minute decision and couldn't have been more pleased with The Nagoya. Usually a two night minimum stay is required but the owner was very helpful and sorted out our request. Very clean, modern with fantastic views and perfectly positioned for a short walk to the town centre. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family.
p.s. Breakfast was excellent also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay every room has a set of patio doors taking you out to your part of the balcony. You can see Lake Windemere from there stunning views.!! You can walk into the town centre in lest than 5 minutes. Variety of shops and cafes. The staff were great and the breakfast was fab. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the Jacuzzi bath or the one with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

just returned from Nagoya after spending a lovely three nights stay in a lovely area of bowness on windermere. we were met by trevor whom was so welcoming and was our host for our duration. I can only repeat what all the other positive comments have mentioned prior including the excellent facilities that it has to offer, including the central location for all amenities. Nagoya is spotless with beautiful breakfast served in our room which was the rydal suite at a small premium. Trevor cooked our breakfast for us each morning plus he was able to offer his local knowledge to assist us with planning our daily trips. many thanks

Room Tip: the rydal suite has the most space and excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nagoya Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nagoya Country House

Address: Brackenfield, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nagoya Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nagoya Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Nagoya Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nagoya Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.