We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and brilliant location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elim Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elim Lodge
Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value and brilliant location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night with a friend this week, it's a great little place in an excellent location. The owners were very pleasurable to talk to and we arrived early but could still use the parking. The room itself was perfect for what we needed, the only downside is that the bathroom wasn't connected, but was private for our use and was spotless. The breakfast was brilliant, the eggs and bacon were spot on, all in all we had a very nice, enjoyable stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Many thanks for the kind comments, and glad that you enjoyed yourselves, it was a pleasure to have you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

elim lodge was the last night of our 130km dales way walk. All the other B&B's we had stayed at were great. this was a big disappointment. when we arrived, the greeting was kind, and we were informed our bags had been taken up to our room. Room six. on the top floor. we thought....great! but then after climbing up four flights of steps we were just shocked. the room,(according to our travel agent whom i called to complain) technically complies with the minimum standard we had specified. but this was a joke. the room was so built into the roof of the house, that there was only a small area barely 0.5 m wide where anyone over five foot four inches could stand up. Even my wife could not sit up in bed. the bathroom was like something out of Gullivers travels. to get from the shower to the basin or toilet required ducking under a beam so low as to be an occupational health and safety hazard. there was not even a handle on the inside of the bathroom door to close it! but this was not the only problem. the towels, nicely laid out on the bed were fraying and threadbare, the bed base did not have a cover( valance), there was no top sheet and the pillows were flat and completly passed their useby date. There was also no fire escape from the room, other than going down one flight of internal steps into the lower level bathroom, which worried me given the lodge interior is all wood. the room was clean, the breakfast was fine.,without those redeeming features I would have ranked it terrible. we did not see the other rooms. I suggest stay somewhere else, but whatever make sure you don't get room six unless you get a big discount or stand under five foot!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
This room is our most requested room by returning guests, as it is not a standard block. Even on checkout, when asked was everything OK, the guest said that it was. If it was such a big issue, why did they not tell us and give us the opportunity to transfer them to a different room?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Elim Lodge for a short stay in June (3 days) and was pleasantly surprised by the size of our room. However, that is where comfort ends. We had no car for transport so if we were not out walking or eating we were trapped (3 of us) in our room. I suppose it's my fault for not doing enough investigation in advance; I would have thought there would be "common room" in which we could sit when we were not in our rooms sleeping. Breakfast room was locked if it was not breakfast time. not that I would be comfortable "lounging" in there... Perhaps this is not the norm in the area? It is in the US. While I found the owners helpful before we arrived, they were quite scarce during our stay and I found Linda quite brusque and hurried most if the time. Not what I expected in B&B people at all. Roger was ok and helped us upstairs with our luggage. I just expected B&B people to be a little more friendly and would have liked someplace to lounge other than in our room. Would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meltham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The general standard of accommodation is a little "tired". While clean and reasonably comfortable it all felt a little dated and in need of general refurbishment. Expensive for what you get. We stayed for three nights in June 2013.

The breakfast was nice although a little limited and don't try asking for something if it isn't on the menu!

Our biggest issue with the place was the owners. They were incredibly rude and abrupt. When my partner asked if she could have scrambled eggs and mushrooms for breakfast she got - "we don't do mushroom" in a very rude and aggressive manner, as if to say "how dare you ask for something other than this!"

We had earlier had an issue over arrival times, we got stuck in traffic on the way there so telephoned to let them know we might be arriving about 10:30pm. (We actually arrived at 10:15pm) The response was, "Well you clearly didn't set off soon enough", when I explained that it was just that we are stuck in traffic, the response was "So you say" - in fact calling me a liar! If I could have cancelled the booking at that point I would have done.

At breakfast on Sunday morning we heard the owner "bark" at a resident wanting to check out - "You'll have to wait can't, you see I'm serving breakfast!"

Bowness is a lovely place, highly recommended but I couldn't recommend Elim Lodge as a place to stay. There are loads of alternatives and for the price (£77 per night) there are plenty of cheaper and better places you could stay.

Room Tip: My tip for choosing a good room would be to pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for the comments, and I'm sure in the interests of fairness the guest wouldn't mind if we put our viewpoint.

Firstly, the reviewer's partner rang 40 mins before latest check in to say they were going to be late. When I asked how late, she said she didn't know, and when I asked where they were, she said she didn't know. We finally established they were about two hours away, and we said, despite the fact that they would be way past latest check in time, we would wait up for them. Twenty minutes later, the reviewer rang up said I'd upset his partner, because she didn't know whether they would be allowed in, despite what I told her. He were very aggressive and rude to me personally, I too wish they had not arrived, we were dreading their arrival. It is the guest's responsibility to arrive on time, not mine.

We showed them in extremely politely, and were nothing but deliberately courteous to them throughout the stay. We offer a very extensive menu, yet the reviewer's partner wanted to order something else without bothering to read our menu. We are a three star B&B, and our breakfast has been graded 4 star by VisitEngland, if the guest wanted something more extensive, maybe they should have booked a 4 or 5 star hotel. The way the guest's partner spoke to my wife as she was going out the first morning was nothing short of disgusting. Other guests in the hall at the time looked in amazement and asked us what that was all about.

And finally, the guest didn't pay £77 per night, they paid £72. It is amazing how friendly and polite the reviewer's partner was when she came back for the charger that she had forgotten, maybe if they were both a little more accommodating and less aggressive, they would have had a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but can highly recommend. Spotlessly clean, immaculate room and friendly hosts. I would definitely stay here again the next time I come to the Lakes. Bowness is also a nice village with everything you need with regard to shops, restaurants etc. All within a short walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for the kind comments, we try our best to be accommodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in this lovely house. The room was clean, fresh and comfortable and we had our own private bathroom with a choice of bath or shower. We stayed with our young daughter and found the owners very pleasant and child friendly. Breakfast was a real pleasure, lots of choice, cooked to order and very generous portions. Great start to the day. We were very lucky with the weather this year which just capped off a perfect stay in the Lakes :) The property is a short walk into Bowness and we enjoyed walking down to the lake every day. I would highly recommend Elim Lodge, excellent value for money.

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay and we hope to return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you and your family with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked very last minute so ended up where there was a room available at a reasonable price. Therefore, we didn't really know much about Elim Lodge before arriving.

We were very pleasantly surprised. The location is fantastic, just a short walk from the lake and with some great shops, pubs and restaurants really near by. We would definitely recommend going for a drink in the garden of The Angel Inn as the sun is setting - truly beautiful!

Elim Lodge is on a side road just off the main road which runs through Bowness so is a little away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to feel as though you're in the centre. It is a hill walk down to the lake which means an uphill walk back but it's not too far, we enjoyed the walk and you can't go far in The Lakes without encountering a hill anyway!

The room we stayed in was very spacious and the bed was so comfy! The room and en-suite were both extremely clean. Everything had been thought of, we did not feel there was anything missing from the room. It was really nice that an effort had been made by the lodge to be environmentally friendly.

We were over an hour early for check in but popped in to see whether we could leave the car in the car park. Rodger was so friendly and told us we were fine to check in then and there because the room was ready. We were so grateful of this because my husband had not long come out of hospital and was feeling really tired.

Breakfast the next day was gorgeous. There was a selection of cereals and then different hot options were ordered and brought to the table. The breakfast time of 45 minutes was shorter than we have encountered anywhere else. It meant that all guests were having breakfast at the same time which put a slight strain on the service. This wasn't a problem because we still had a fantastic experience and don't think it needs changing, it is just something we would make other travellers aware of.

Overall, we had a fabulous stay and would definitely return. For the location, quality of accommodation and food, price and friendly welcome we think that Elim Lodge is one of the best if not the best guest House in Bowness!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which is at the front of the house and would definitely request that room if we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for the comments, and delighted that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves, feedback like this makes it all worthwhile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elim Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elim Lodge to your Saves list