We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elim Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elim Lodge
Save
You added Elim Lodge to your Saves list
Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
North East
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Another great weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the 2nd time my wife and 2 nieces have stayed in the Elim Lodge Guest House and yet again we were not disappointed. Room very clean, breakie hearty with plenty of options - location absolutely spot on for visiting attractions, local bars & eateries around Bowness / Windermere.

Roger and Lynda were both spot on and also very kindly kept us informed of weather situation as we travelled down (horrible wintery conditions).
We will certainly be back again..... thanks.

Room Tip: Both trips we have stayed in room number 3 (good for 2 adults / 2 kids) and cannot fault - other fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback. We wish you had told us the others were cold, we could have provided extra heating.

Lovely to see you and the girls again, take care, Rodger and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is our third visit to Elim Lodge, this time for our "25th" wedding anniversary. The hosts are genuinely welcoming and even decorated our room, before we arrived, with balloons and banners (that my daughter had sent to them). It really is in a great location, very close to all the shops and the Lake. The rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast delicious! We will definitely stay here again and think it is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks, delighted that we made your special day a bit more so, and lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in the double on suite for three nights. We arrived and was greeted in a very welcoming manner. Our room was really cosy, lovely little en suite, just what you needed. Tea and coffee making facilities available for your use. The breakfast is stunning, nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything extra. Very close to town and restaurants, it is up the hill (just bear that in mind). Would definatley book again if we were to visit. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Many thanks, hope the shopping went OK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Very friendly & welcoming. Great fried eggs. You can tell a lot about the service when they take the care to fry an egg to perfection. We stayed in the room with a seperate bathroom. This did not cause any problems. It meant that we could spend more money in the town.

Room Tip: This is a quiet road just off the main drag. You would not know that you were so close to the centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, if guests want runny eggs, they should be able to have them :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Elim Lodge first week in september,our room was smart ,clean and tidy,our breakfast (full english)was fresh hot and filling,with options for vegetarians,and Rodger and Linda ,the couple who run this b&b are lovely,they are helpful,friendly and accomadating. If you dont stay here you have missed out! I think the people who wrote the previous comment must have got the wrong place,as their review is totally wrong,or they might just be liars,as anyone who stays at Elim will see my review is 100% HONEST.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words, we really do try hard to make all our guests welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Bad attitude and ruined the whole of our break. No manners or customer service. No professionalism. Cheap and tacky. I would rather stay in a hostel than this b&b....... Smelly - almost forgot.
The place looks like a run down house. I am highly surprised with all the good reviews. Very surprised. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
This is the third attempt by this reviewer to put a review on Trip Advisor, the previous two have both been removed by Trip Advisor. This guest did not stay at Elim Lodge.

The "guest" had booked a family room through Laterooms for 19th February. They arrived at 19.40, asking where to park. My wife showed the lady where to park, on hard standing alongside the car park. Ten minutes later the gentleman guest came in, and said that they were not going to stay. He told us that their friends were staying further down in the village, and they were going to stay with them. We asked was there anything wrong, and he told us it was fine, they were just going to stay with their friends. He then demanded a refund. We explained that, as per his confirmation from Laterooms, if the booking was cancelled less than 7 days before the expected arrival date, he would have to pay for the first night. He told us that in Europe, he could cancel any time he liked, without charge. We replied that he had had to confirm that he had read the conditions before the booking was confirmed, and we would not allow him to cancel so late without charge, as we had no opportunity to resell the room. Please note, the reviewer was not present during this conversation, and I never met her, according to her husband, she was outside in the car. We were totally professional, calm and measured with the guest, who was actually very aggressive with us.

The guests never came in further than the entrance hall, and have given us a bad review purely because they were not allowed to cancel late on the evening of arrival without charge.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We visited Elim Lodge in August with our two daughters aged 8 and 4 and had the double/family room with an adjacent bathroom. On previous visits we stayed in the double ensuite which was at the top of the house.

The B&B is situated really conveniently for Bowness and Lake Windermere - the shops, restuarants, lake and boats were only a short walk away and there was off-road parking which was a bonus. We also used the leisure pass for Parklands Leisure at the Burnside Hotel which is at the other end of Bowness. The girls enjoyed the swimming and we also took advantage of the jacuzzi and steam/sauna room.

The room was clean and comfortable, the furniture maybe could do with a little updating, but it did not affect our stay. The adjacent bathroom was modern, clean and huge! It was accessed via a short corridor with a couple of steps. The double room we stayed in previously was at the top of the house had an ensuite shower room and was full of character (including beams!).

The Cumberland breakfast was a treat. Locally sourced sausage, bacon and eggs, it was all freshly cooked to order. Also available were cereals, juice, croissants, toast, fruit, yoghurt and vegetarian and lighter options.

The hosts, Rodger and Linda really made the stay for us. They are very welcoming, very friendly and down to earth, always ready with a suggestion for a walk. They care about the environment and have an eco/fairtrade ethos, from the tea and coffe right down to the shower gel!

Once again, a warm and welcoming stay, looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Many thanks, great to see you again, how the girls have grown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elim Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.