We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stags Head

Save Saved
You added Stags Head to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stags Head
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked a room for 3 nights even after reading the negative reviews. We checked in, which was easy and pleasant enough, and shown to a twin room on the 2nd floor away from the expected noise, with views of the church. But the room had no shower, only a bath - difficult for hairwashing, especially when you have long hair!
We were moved immediately and without any bother to the floor below (with shower, and a lovely view of the fire escape and a brick wall), but one of the beds hadn't been changed, and the sheets had the remains of someone's fake tan on them!
The wall under the window was black, there were cobwebs round the frame and the general impression was of dirt and neglect.
Then when my friend went to advise them we were leaving, I noticed that the toilet had a bad leak, and the floor was swimming in water.
A refund was given without any problem, apart from the initial deposit, which should follow, and apologies were made, but we were glad to get away. It may have been ok for one night at a push, but not for the 3 day break we planned. Just too dirty and neglected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    54
    30
    25
    36
See reviews for
23
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
halifax
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arrived the hotel and was checked in by lovely young man called Jamie. The facilities fulfilled our needs and the food was very good and also well priced. They had entertainment on at night, again were served by the helpful Jamie, who made our stay very enjoyable. Overall an excellent stay at the stags and we will be returning next summer with our family 10 out of 10. Best value for money in the lakes!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel was better than i'd hoped for after reading a few reviews. I was greeted warmly upon my arrival and given discount card for food & drink. Room was not huge but clean and well appointed. The location of the hotel is the main reason for 5/5 rating however. If you intend to travel on the lake or walk in the surrounding hills then you'd struggle to find a better location to start out from. If/when I return to Windermere i'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hal and Sharon from N. Ireland. Very comfortable place to stay, old fashioned but very clean and the staff are very pleasant. We were warned about the noise but were disappointed by the lack of it, we stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday night, the only two nights that there was no entertainment, we were going for the craic. The leisure facilities at the nearby Burnside Hotel, which is about a five-minute walk away, are very good and their Jacuzzi was the best I have used. Great location for sight seeing, close to all the best sights. All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: Book the front room with the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpooll
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

stayed many times at the stags head hotel ,did notice the changes ,breakfast as good as any hotel in the lakes,great choice on menus ,highly reccomend the hot baguttes .rooms dated but very clean .staff always helpful,our only gripe would be the loss of the free parking at the belfield hotel caught us unaware and cost us £12 to feed the meter.

Room Tip: use trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Wandered in, wasn't met with menus, had to find my own. Found a seat, chose food, went to the bar and was met by a rude, obnoxious, dismissive character, who took the micky out of us. Was aggressive towards us and when we asked to pay said, 'well give us your card then'. I ordered a sunday roast, it was £6.95 and came with overcooked chicken a tea spoon of gravy, more bones than chicken and enough fat to grease a car for a few years. No apology given when I pass on my comments just 'okay'. Very bad service and chronic staff. Never again! Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'd read the reviews before booking, so I knew what to expect. Check in was quick, recieved a discount card for food and drink, had a good laugh at the Friday night entertainment and went downstairs to the nightclub after the main bar shut and watched the Olympic fireworks. No car park, but one near enough, room was big, clean and cleaners came in after the first night. Breakfast was good and served quickly, we were only on a boozy birthday do and it was ideal for us!

Room Tip: We were a couple of floors up, well clear of the noise of the pub and club, though we only went to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stags Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.