We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stags Head to your Saves list
Stags Head
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Listen, the poor reviews of The Stags Head are mainly by couples who wanted a romantic weekend in The Lakes - if that is the case, why did you not read the reviews on here first?!!

For a weekend away with a group of mates, be it for a reunion, walking weekend, hen do or in our case Stag Do - then The Stags Head is an ideal location. RIght in the middle of Bowness, with its own massive bar and nightclub - what more can you ask for?

The rooms have all been recently modernised and are very adequate for anyones needs. The staff can't do enough to help and the food potions (be it breakfast or bar food) are massive!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    64
    38
    30
    49
See reviews for
32
87
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed there, which speaks for itself! Yes, we had a complaint about the lack of heating, but it was quickly resolved. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is basic but very good and plentiful portions.We stayed in the Bowness suite and apart from the initial lack of heating, could not fault it.
The Stags Head gives good value for money, a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and we both recommend it.
We will be back there in October2011.
Dave & Dorothy Parkinson

Room Tip: Use the website, but phone and ask for any specia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in room 10, there was a bath but no shower, it was cold and no heating on. It was extremely noisey as the club turned out so did not sleep till 3 am.
the breakfast5 was good and staff were civil and helpful.
I wouldnt stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower instead of a bath!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Me and my boyfriend read the awful reviews on this hotel after we had booked it and were absolutely dreading our weekend away here and did consider cancelling and going somewhere else.
Well we were so pleased we didnt, we had a friendly welcome even though the bar was busy, we had a very clean pleasant room, with a comfortable bed and clean sheets, breakfast was nice and location perfect.
The bar downstairs was a very popular bar on the saturday night with the locals and it got very lively but we felt comfortable enough to be sat in the bar,
We didnt go to the night club around the back but you could hear the party goers from our room but it didnt last long as it was just when it was kicking out time!
If you dont mind abit of noise then you will be ok staying in this hotel, have no fear it was clean friendly and the breakfast was nothing to moan at!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Me & my fiance came here for a weekend away for his 21st birthday. Our room was very basic, could of done with a clean. The bar was lively & the club was excellent!! Our bed was very noisy even with the slightest of movements. The breakfast was... discusting. The location couldnt of been better. Lots of restaurants around & the lake was just down the road. Although we drove around the back of the 'hotel' & it was a shock! The place looked like it was falling down!! At night time all we could here were floorboards squeaking & doors slamming. We nicknamed Stags Head as Faulty Towers. We enjoyed our stay but I think it was the company we enjoyed, not the hotel.

We could not fault the night life, excellent club downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Having booked a surprise night here for my Girlfriend in a room with a 4 poster bed we were not dissapointed with what we got,,, clean fresh room,,,, clean crisp linen,, bar staff, namely Lee, pleasant polite & proffesional,, breakfast was served with smile & of excellent quality.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stay twice a year and will continue to do so. Manager and staff excellent nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast / meals very good. Suites excellent as we are sure all rooms are but as we only ever stay in a suite that is all we can comment on.Made to feel welcome at all times. Excellent !! E + P Roby

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stags Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.