We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not live up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Windermere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodlands Windermere to your Saves list
Woodlands Windermere
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   New Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
newcastle
1 review
“did not live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

booked this hotel expecting more! very dissapointed in the size of our bedroom and also expected a bathroom at least, instead of a broom closet style pokey shower room, talk about skimping. I felt like i was in a bedroom in a normal house not a hotel not very private at all and you could hear everything above, very noisy, we had the room directly at the top of the stairs and could also hear everything in the bar. we only stayed one night but only saw 2 members of staff and one was the manager/owner, however the were very pleasant and helpful. breakfast was basic and also took a while to be served, I was very dissapointed wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    49
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
177
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed 3 days at the Woodlands Hotel, would recommend. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice large clean room at frount of hotel, but quite. Within walking distance to lots of restaurants and to both Bowness and Windermere. Stayed on Bed & Breakfast basis. Used hotel as base for touring holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Can't fault the service, the staff and owners were extremely friendly, the room on the other hand was a little disappointing. It wasn't terrible by any means but having booked a superior double in a 5* establishment it didn't meet my expectations. We would have liked a bath rather than just an ensuite shower and with a critical eye, the bedside lamp required dusting. Our champagne glasses and bucket were not removed the next day, the bed was creaky as was the floor above and I felt it a bit tight to make us share a single packet of biscuits even if there were two in there, but then I do like biscuits.
The toiletries were very good though and given the friendly staff I would still recommend the hotel but I just wouldn't describe it as outstanding or luxury.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Wanted somewhere really gorgeous & special for our first anniversary, and found exactly that with "The Woodlands" :-)
Had trawled the net for hours to make sure found the best place to stay, the reviews for the woodlands were all brilliant, could hardly find a bad review.
Those good reviews were spot on & completely true, we loved every minute!
We stayed 2 nights, (3 days) and had a great time!
Amy greeted us on arrival, she is super friendly & chatty, told us all about area & best places to eat etc. & gave us a map of the area, which we used every day.
Room was gorgeous, beautiful decor & very clean.
Breakfast delicious, the staff really make sure you have everything you want!
Bowness is really nice, plenty to do & great restuarants.
We cant wait to go back to stay here again,will definately return in future!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights for a weekend away. The hotel was charming and inviting. We were made to feel welcome by all the staff and found the food and service excellent. The room was comfortable and clean and well furnished. If i was to be very picky, I would have said the bathroom was not very big and a couple of light bulbs were out. The location is good with only five mins walk to Windermere town centre and 10mins walk to the centre of Bowness. Taxi ride back from Bowness £3 approx. The hotel has off road parking which is free. I would recomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We had such a nice time at the Woodlands Hotel in June 2009. We stayed two nights at this place and were treated with excellent service by both Amy who was on reception and the owner. They both went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

after going for my daugters birthday, the man who owns the hotel was very friendly who treated you lovley trying to make conversation in every way. we were treated as individuals and shown are own parking. although the room was slightly dark the whole place was recently referbished and you could tell. they had a pool that they shared with some of the other hotels only 10 minutes walk from the woodlands. this hotel is in the heart of bowness and has a enchanting atmosphere. there was a river running right outside of the room making you feel like you were in a woodland it was a magical experiance. bed and breackfast was perfect in everyway and they would make what you said exactly it would all come out on fancey plates like you had paid loads for it. they would bend over backwards to do anything for you. in conclusion it is more like a home than a hotel i felt at home and i have very high standerds and this met all of them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Address: New Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodlands Windermere 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Windermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.