We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Windermere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodlands Windermere to your Saves list
Woodlands Windermere
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   New Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a courtyard suite..Lovely room with a four poster bed...Very clean place staffed by helpful and smiley people..!!..Excellent breakfast with a choice of everything and nothing is too much trouble..
The hotel is situated on the main road between Bowness and Windermere..Out of the hotel, turn right and Windermere is a 5 minute walk, turn left and you can walk into Bowness in 10 minutes slightly downhill so coming back may take a little longer..!!
There are plenty of nice places to eat and drink pretty close to the hotel but we hope you have better weather than we did...My My it was cold..!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    49
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
177
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Lake District and we chose woodlands based on the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed, the hotel was in a great position for both Windermere and Bowness, the staff were polite and helpful, the breakfast was first class, and the rooms were clean with everything you needed. We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile


Stayed here August bank holiday 2012
small well run hotel fabulous room
top quality Breakfast great location
Oldy Worldy very British style we have
Already booked to go back
great value for money a very pleasant
Comfortable peaceful place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just got back from a short break in Lake District. Woodlands hotel was clean, comfortable and stylish. Great breakfast cooked to order. Good position for exploring Windermere, Bowness and Grasmere. Will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'm really surprised by the 2 previous reviews. We have just returned from another fabulous weekend at The Woodlands. The staff are amazing, we have always stayed in a lovely room and I personally think the Bar and lounge area is typically what you would expect at a Lakeland hotel, cosy and welcoming.
I also prefer supportive pillows but when I've mentioned this to the staff, they have swapped them for firmer ones, no problem.
The breakfast, as always was brilliant and keeps you going for the day.
All in all a perfect Lakeland getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed here a few times when we have visited the Lakes, with & without our children. We have just returned from another lovely stay over Half Term, with the children. The staff are so helpful & welcoming, it feel's like a home from home. I just wish our bedrooms looked the same as theirs, the decor is beautiful. The breakfast choice is fantastic & the taste certainly does not disappoint, delicious & certainly one of the best. We also stayed for the Afternoon tea as I have previously treated my parents to one for their Birthday here last year.....my Father did not stop talking about it. This again did not disappoint, it was fabulous! I would like to thank the staff once again for a delightful stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens Merseyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked for a two night stay after reading all the good reviews. First impressions were really good. Friendly welcome and our room was nicely decorated and very clean if somewhat on the small side especially the en-suite, only 1 chair and no hair dryer.
After walking for miles we were looking forward to a hot shower and a comfy bed and got neither.
At 10 pm there was no hot water and after washing in cold water we climbed into bed hoping to sink into a nice deep sleep - no chance! The room was not well sound proofed and we could almost join in with the conversation next door, the pillows offered no support and the mattress was so hard that neither of us were able to sleep properly.
No hot water again in the morning so, very tired and not very clean and fresh we decided to head home after just one night.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Address: New Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodlands Windermere 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Windermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.