We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in need if a refurb !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laurel Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Laurel Cottage B&B
St Martins Square, Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call direct 01539445594
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location in need if a refurb !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I visit the lakes alot and have never been disappointed with the b&bs I've stayed in , this one was not very clean at all in my opinion the bedding smelt of grease and I don't think it had been changed as there was a small patch of dried blood on the bed sheet at the bottom end of the bed Also the bath mat had either bleach or hair dye on it .Everything was a botched job wonky toilet roll holder hook falling off bathroom door window only opened slightly it was so stuffy walls dirty just didn't feel clean at all . Its a fantastic location and could be lovely with a refurb and fresh towels and bedding .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonandyui, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi there,
I am sorry to hear your expectations were not as you wished, and a touch dissapointed you preferred to write here instead as coming to me with your issue. Its always a little confusing when we get a review such as yours basically tearing us appart, and at the same time, out of nearly 200 reviews, your being the only one like this. My guess is you are a competitor who never stayed here and is worrie about the launch of my restauraant in September L'Escargot @ Laurel Cottage.
I like this site, but it does allow "Anyone" to write on it...even those who dont stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    52
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
132
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stopped for two nights and couldn't have chosen a better place, staff were so helpful, nothing too much of a problem for them. Got a complimentary upgrade to 4poster suite, excellent location within Bowness, restaurants and traditional pubs only a minutes walk away. Would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a lovely stay at laurel cottage , we were made very welcome we had room 10 which was very nice & clean the only thing wrong was the bar below it was very noisy but we would definitely stay there again .
Dawn (leeds)

Room Tip: Not room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was very well situated for all ameneties. It's hosts were very friendly and courteous! the rooms very clean and the breakfast was very good. my only criticism is that it was a little noisy of a night .. we did not come in until around 1.00am but you could still hear people passing etc but it would not put me off staying again!

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The Laurels is perfectly located for Dales Way walkers given that it is directly on route and close to places to eat and drink.

The staff are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are interestingly presented and very comfortable. The breakfast is hearty and tasty. All-in-all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second stay in Bowness, and we were very impressed with the B&B's location, very close to all the restaurants and lake, made even better with free parking. The room decor felt a little dated, but was very clean. Breakfast was served in the room upon request and was delivered on time. The food was ok but not amazing. The room was a little noisy with foot traffic and people talking out the back of the B&B. I would stay here again for the location alone, although the weather was rather hot during our last stay, and as we were on the top floor, we couldnt really cool down properly, I request a room lower down in the building next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Laurel Cottage B&B over 2 nights for my girlfriends birthday.
We got a friendly welcome, were shown straight up to our room and were offered help with our bags. The hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful offering advice on where to and eat and what we could get up to! I barely mentioned it was my girlfriends birthday and there was a card waiting for her at breakfast! (Nice touch) We did have to pay on arrival but were in no way rushed. We parked the car up the hill, settled in and went for a walk before we came back to pay which was no problem!
We stayed in room 15, it was clean and tidy and we were really pleased with it. Only criticism being The shower wasn't great and there was a bit of noise in the evenings but that is to be expected right in town I guess. There were water and biscuits in the room but they were not replaced on our second night which was a bit of a shame. Bowness is a great place with very many good resteraunts and bars and of course the stunning views. There really is something for everyone here.
Overall we would definitely recommend this place and would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: St Martins Square, Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.