We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lingwood Lodge to your Saves list
Lingwood Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We were given a warm and friendly welcome on our arrival at Lingwood Lodge. We were very pleased with our room. It was warm and clean with comfortable beds. There were drinks available for all of the time. The staff were very helpful and suggested an excellent restaurant for our evening meal. The breakfast was faultless. Parking an access to the town was also good. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
111
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We found Lingwood while driving around Windermere and were fortunate enough to obtain the two rooms we needed, one for my wife and I and one for our teenage daughters.
It is a very inviting building with superb gardens which were flowering when we stayed. A great location by the lake and short walk to town. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Large modern rooms with great beds. Breakfast was superb.
Recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — size of rooms
  • Disliked — no fridge
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We arrived tired and later than planned on a dark, wet evening. We were met with a friendly welcome and rooms that were comfortable, modern, spacious and spotless. There is a good choice of eating places close by, and we went to bed well fed and happy.
Breakfast the following morning was a delight. Quantity, quality, service and surroundings were all above criticism.
All in all, Lingwood Lodge is a most impressive B&B. I've stayed in hotels twice the price that weren't half as good.
Thanks!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

Searched high and low for "nice" hotels with good reviews and not too pricey but nothing. I am a little dubious when it comes to B&Bs' normally as boyfriend calls me a hotel snob. Anyway, changed the search to B&Bs and found Lingwood Lodge. There were great reviews by recent visitors to the area - price was ok too. Paul and Judy were great. The room was a decent size, very clean, and very homely! Decorated tastefully too. It was more like a hotel than a B&B. If we're visting again then this is the place to stay. One last thing to add - Judy poached my boyfriend's eggs to perfection - his words not mine!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We found the lovely lodge when hunting for accomodation on the fly. The room was spacious and sparkling clean. The place was renovated 2 years ago and feels new !!!
Ensuite bathroom was clean, though a bit small but more than comfortable. All toiletries were provided and were of very good quality.
The best part was the in-room TV with an inbuilt DVD player. There were hundreds of DVDs for use without any charge. The hospitality tray in the room was luxurious with Cadhbury's Hot Choc, tea, biscuits, etc.

Breakfast was good, more so the folks running the place !!!

Beautiful view from the room. The lodge is on an elevation with a view of the hills. 5 mins walk from plethora of restuarants & the few mins from the lake.
Free onsite parking.
All in all good value for money for the quality & experience. All other hotels in vicinity (e.g. Best Western, Macdonald, etc.) are extremely expensive.
Highly recommended. Book in advance as it keeps busy.

  • Liked — in room DVD player with loads of movies to choose from
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My wife & I have just spent two days at the Lingwood Lodge & we can thoroughly reccomend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Windemere area.

Just a two minute stroll to the Bowness promenade this fantastic B&B would put many three or four star hotels to shame. Excellent service & cleanliness are just two of the many positives of this establishment.

I won't go on to repeat what other reviewers have already said, but we booked this solely on trip advisor reccomendation & we were not disappointed.

  • Liked — Cleanliness Of The Room & Superb Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

This was a fantastic place to stay, spotlessly clean, and very up to date. The room was a good size with king size bed, very very clean shower and toilet, and well stocked coffee tray which was renewed each day. The breakfast room maintained this standard, and the breakfast (full English for me, scrambled eggs and salmon for wife) was perfectly cooked and presented. The toast was a DIY job which meant that instead of being presented with a tray of cold toast right at the start, you simply put what you wanted in the toaster and got it hot and fresh - wish other places could do this. The room had a modern (small) flat screen TV with DVD player incprporated, and there were lots of DVDs to borrow. The guest lounge was available all day, very modern with a comfortable suite, TV etc and it was nice to sit there for an hour before going back to the room in the evening. Very friendly staff, and we were made most welcome without being overwhelmed. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone. To sum up - clean Clean CLEAN, very comfortable, excellent breakfast and service.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, modernity, friendliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Address: Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere and the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. En suite accommodation, TV/DVD players. internet access, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.