We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dene House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dene House to your Saves list
Dene House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Stay Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our first stay at Dene House and what an absolute pleasure from walking in to leaving, nothing was to much trouble. We spent 2 nights in room 6 and it was decorated to high standard & immaculately clean. There was everything you need in the rooms as well as a great touch of a fridge & wine glasses. On our arrival we had a very warm welcome from the owner Ian who showed us the breakfast room and made us a hot drink and some homemade short bread and cake baked by Lisa which I must say was gorgeous. This is then best welcome to any hotel we have had including some 5 star ones. Breakfast is amazing with lots of choice & everything was cooked to perfection. The home made yogurt over the fresh fruit was fantastic . I had the Welsh Rarebit for the first time & it was a great choice . We would definitely recommend Dene House without a doubt & we will be returning on our next visit to the Lake District. Thank you to you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you. We hope you come back and visit us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    32
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
187
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned from another 2 days at Dene House and had a brilliant stay. 2nd time here and the location is ideal to walk into the centre of Bowness (5 mins) close to pubs, shops, etc. rooms are spotless and the breakfast is fantastic with a good choice available. Great new owners and the homemade cake and biscuits on arrival were delicious!! Will see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our Second time staying at Dene House in the past six months and once again our expectations were exceeded! The hospitality and service levels are second to none and you really want for nothing. From the homemade banana cake that greets you on your arrival to the fantastic choices on the breakfast menu to get you set for a long day around Cumbria it's all top notch! On the subject of breakfasts I implore you to try the Welsh rarebit. Phenomenal!

We stayed in Room 6 on this visit and I would be very quick to recommend it but that may mean that we miss out on that particular room on our next visit. :) So all I'll say is that having stayed in two different rooms now they were both beautifully decorated and very clean. Comfortable beds and hot powerful showers. You really couldn't want for more!

Throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome, and throughout the slobbery kisses that greeted us as we came downstairs each morning were such a nice touch, (I better add here that they were provided by Freddie the dog!) we felt at all times if there was anything we wanted for then it would never have been too much trouble. All in all if this review isn't a good enough recommendation to stay at Dene House if you're visiting the Lakes then it's you're loss! Get it booked already!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. We will keep the rarebits on our breakfast menu as they are proving to be very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First impression was of a high standard. We were welcomed by a friendly and helpful owner, Ian. Once settled in we enjoyed tea and homemade shortbread biscuits. A lovley touch. A fantastic small but perfectly formed hotel in the perfect location, just a short walk from the pubsand restaurants. The hotel is excellent value and w ewill be back

Room Tip: Room 6 at the top of the hotel was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. Look forward to welcoming you back to Dene House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome from Ian who has a good sense of humour. After being shown our room we were made tea and home made cakes. The house is lovely. Modern simple tasteful decor with quality carpets and furnishings but keeping the Victorian features. Immaculately clean. We had room 3 a superior room with I think a queen size bed, very comfortable. A large room but nice and warm with a modern en suite with powerful shower. Not even a water mark on the taps, very clean throughout. Hearty breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Dene house is just off the main Kendal road and quiet at night but only 5 mins walk to shops pubs restaurants and lake. We can recommend the lake cruise and lake shore walk. We didnt have chance to use the nearby spa because the weather was so lovely for walking by the lake. Have already recommended to family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Think you love Dene House as much as we do! Thank you for all your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here with my fiance in March 2013. We stayed for 2 nights in a superior room. Our first impressions were very positive. the building itself is beautiful. The car parking is ideal. We were shown to our rooms by Lisa who was very welcoming. The room was superb, with beautiful decor and design. The bed was also very comfy. The room had a fridge which was ideal for us. Plenty of space.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. First day i chose salmon and scrambled egg, second i chose the full breakfast, both were cooked to perfection.
Denehouse is perfectly located up the road from centre with lots of bars and restaurants. And close walk to lake.
I would defiantly recommend this B&B, family are very friendly. and I would return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for all your great comments and the photos too. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fantastic place for a weekend away. A very warm welcome, which included afternoon tea and homemade cake and shortbread. Room very clean, warm and all facilities catered for. Everything you need was there or provided if not. Fantastic breakfast, fresh and again a variety of options. Very attentive staff. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for all your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you again to Dene House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Dene House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.