We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dene House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dene House to your Saves list
Dene House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thornton Cleveleys
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Had the pleasure of staying at Dene House for a couple of nights as a base to do some sightseeing in the Lakes. My wife and I had intended staying elsewhere in Bowness but were not able to arrange a room for dates we wanted so I found this hotel whilst looking at some trip advisor reviews. Although we do not entirely depend on other travellers reviews before arranging accommodation I must admit that on this occasion I was so impressed with previous travellers comments that we went ahead and booked. What a great decision as we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had a great room (Bedroom 3) which was above average size and was tastefully decorated and furnished and very clean and well maintained . The en suite bathroom was of a good size , also spotlessly clean and along with the bedroom provided with thermostatically controlled radiators so you were always warm. The breakfast quality and choice was very good and set you up for a days walking and served in a lovely dining room overlooking the front of the house. The hotel is situated just off the road with its own car park spaces to the front and then only a short walk down into the village and hardly any noise to be heard at night. During our visit we were made to feel very welcome and would not hesitate to return to Dene House for another satisfying stay.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Everything was fine
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    33
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
192
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N Yorks
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Having experience of internet searches not always "coming up with the goods" I was delighted that this guest house met all of our requirements. It is in a very quiet location but just a couple of minutes walk from the busy centre of Bowness.
Our room (no. 3) was spacious, well furnished, with a larger than average comfortable bed, a full size (not portable) tv and even a mini fridge for our own use. The modern en-suite bathroom was average sized for a guest house, with a powerful shower. Cleanliness was first class. The breakfast room was modern and bright and breakfast was excellent, plentiful, nicely cooked and well presented. If I have a quibble, it is a minor one in that our hosts did not introduce themselves (I always think that is a nice touch). I would not hesitate in recommending Dene House to anyone looking for a good place to stay.

  • Liked — location, room and breakfast
  • Disliked — our hosts not introducting themselves
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

It is a lovely house with own private car park and within walking distance (3 or 4 minutes) of the Lake and town centre. It is slightly set back off the Kendal Road so the traffic noise in minimal and virtually non existent at night. Check in/out time is 11.00 which is great because you can spend the rest of the day sightseeing. Flexible about check in/out and they are happy for you to leave your luggage if you want to arrive earlier or depart later. We also liked having our own front door key which gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased.

We stayed in Room 3, superior king size ensuite on the first floor. The room is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and spacious with a large bay window and two comfy chairs. There is also a TV. The room has plenty of storage space and there are nice additional touches; mini fridge, wine glasses and corkscrew, hospitality tray with biscuits and chocolate. For practicality there is a cd radio alarm player, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The ensuite shower room is modern and clean with white towels and complimentary shower gels. The shower is brilliant and easy to use (not always the case in some B&Bs!) and there is always plenty of hot water. Also, appreciated the radiator which was on all the time so ensured dry towels.

Breakfasts were wonderful and served (by a lovely lady) in bright dining room; contemporary décor and individual tables. Breakfast was between 8.45 and 9.30 which we liked because we didn’t have to get up too early. There was a choice of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt followed by toast and full English breakfast (vegetarian option available) or you could just have some items of the full breakfast if you wish. My husband particularly enjoyed the filter coffee that you could help yourself to for a second or even third cup!

Dene House is friendly but run in an unobtrusive way . You can chat if you want to but there is no pressure to make conversation if you prefer to be quiet.

We can recommend a stroll by the Lake after your evening meal. Two good restaurants we found were The White House on Robinson Place and the Good Fortune Chinese on Atkinsons Parade.

We wanted a relaxing, romantic getaway and Dene House and beautiful surrounding area were perfect for this. We can’t wait to go back again!

  • Liked — Ideal location, lovely room and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Stayed in the Lakes and took in a night at the Old Laundry Theatre -which was excellent. Booked Dene House via website. A gem of a B&B - comfy beds -excellent breakfast and unobtrusive owners who are very helpful- exccellent weekend

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

The owners, management and employees of this establishment deserve tremendous praise. Other reviews comment on the cleanliness, food and warmth of the staff at Dene House , and rightly so, as this B & B serves as an ideal location to explore the Lakes. My friend Elin and I only spent 2 days here and yet the memories will last for a long,long time !
I'd like to thank everyone at Dene House for providing such a beautiful and tranquill base for us to enjoy our break !!

  • Liked — The tranqill location combined with a clean, comfortable and well furnished room with lovely views.
  • Disliked — To be very picky indeed the bed was a little softer than I prefer but it was still very comfortable and clean.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Stayed at Denehouse in Feb. Have only just got to grips with posting on TA hence the lateness of report! Thought it was an excellent B&B and would have no hesitation in recommending it. It is in a very central location whilst also being very peaceful. Rooms were tastefully and neutrally decorated including brand new ensuite, plenty hot water and powerful shower, tv , radio and fridge. Breakfast was lovely, help yourself to unlimited fruit juice, yoghurts, fresh fruit salad and various cereals followed by fantastic full English that didn't have a trace of grease. thoroughly recommended. You're given a key so can come and go as you please. Would recommend Villa Postiano restaurant to eat in the evenings but book as soon as you get there or you won't get in!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness,breakfasts,proximity to pubs!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed end of Feb and i'm so glad we picked this place. I wanted somewhere that was chilled out and relaxing.

Denehouse was beautiful (we stayed in room 3) and the service was fantastic. During the last 20years i have travelled all over the world and stayed in some top hotels but i dont think the cleanliness in any of them has matched Denehouse. It was absolutely spotless. Full compliments to the proprietor who runs this beautiful place in a most unobstrusive way (you wouldnt even know they were there).

The brekkies were always plentiful and set you up for the day, with the added advantage of it only being a few minutes walk to the lake;shops and restaurants.

I would recommend it to anyone-again absolutely beautiful with lovely views.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Dene House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.