We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahib's

Shahib's
The Arcade, Crag Brow | Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
+44 15394 43944
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Shahib's tripadvisor page. We are a bespoke Indian & Bangladeshi restaurant, our style of cooking is that of Bangladeshi/ Indian homemade feel. We use the freshest spices and herbs along with the tenderest meats to create our unique, fresh and bespoke dishes. We are situated upstairs above the arcade in the heart of Bowness on Windermere. Perfect view of the much appreciated picturesque town center . We can cater for large parties as we have a seperate dining room aswell as our main dining area for 60 covers, be it 8, 10 or 30. We can accomadate without a problem. Our seating arrangements give ample space for customers not tight fit or cramped. Aswell as dining in we offer a takeout service with 30% off total bill.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Went to this place after reading reviews. Went in at about 6 O clock when nobody there. Very good service, with pleasant staff.
Very good starters, nice bottle of wine and beer, lovely mains, I had Lamb Madras, the mrs, had Dopiaza, with Nan and Rice. £30 cant be bad. When we left an hour later, was pretty full with people, and this was a Wednesday, so that must say something.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    61
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great authentic food. Quick service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Even in busy August weekend the quality did not suffer and the service was warm and efficient. Nice tucked away place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were one of three tables left in the restaurant ( it was nine o'clock on a Wednesday night, totally expected it to be quiet). When I've visited other restaurants this late and seen it this quiet, service has been poor and lazy, but not here!
Drinks arrived quickly, and so did the food which was one of the best Indians I've had in a long time. Very polite staff who were attentive even when we were the last customers in the restaurants, we felt no hint of being rushed out of the door so that staff could go home. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food great staff greeat value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I took my wife to this restaurant while on a short break the food was really nice, it's in a good location and the owner took time out to come over and chat and when he knew it was my wife's birthday gave us Both a free drink. it comes very highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

enjoyed a lamb curry, a vegetarian curry and some onion.

Food was great, service was acceptable - wait staff are fairly young lads who have impeccible manners but need some more experience..

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahib's also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Shahib's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahib's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.