We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahib's

Shahib's
The Arcade, Crag Brow | Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
+44 15394 43944
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Shahib's tripadvisor page. We are a bespoke Indian & Bangladeshi restaurant, our style of cooking is that of Bangladeshi/ Indian homemade feel. We use the freshest spices and herbs along with the tenderest meats to create our unique, fresh and bespoke dishes. We are situated upstairs above the arcade in the heart of Bowness on Windermere. Perfect view of the much appreciated picturesque town center . We can cater for large parties as we have a seperate dining room aswell as our main dining area for 60 covers, be it 8, 10 or 30. We can accomadate without a problem. Our seating arrangements give ample space for customers not tight fit or cramped. Aswell as dining in we offer a takeout service with 30% off total bill.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is tucked away in a tunnel so we almost missed it. We took a menu and checked reviews and decided to go back when they were open later on. On walking in we were greeted by 2 very friendly faces one showed us to our table and the other brought menus. They were very attentive throughout the evening without being bothersome. Food was lovely and they hav a vast menu. We don't drink alcohol so can't comment on that but they had a wine and beer list. Food came quickly. It was very nice. Hot and tasty. Restaurant very big and tastefully decorated. Food was reasonably priced. Not many ppl in but nice atmosphere. Brought bill with a couple of chocolates whichu greedy husband ate both of. Wud def return next time were on area. Highly recommend !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    61
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Came to windermere for two nights, I was craving some Indian food and then found shahibs. I fell in love with this restaurant the food was absolutely delicious. Had a very warm welcome and farewell from jack and the others. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meals with Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this restaurant after consulting Trip Advisor and we made the right decision.
Right from being greeted by the young, knowledgeable owner Jak as we entered the place, the service was amongst the best that I have experienced. Both our meals were really delicious and the recommended wine was very quaffable, all at a reasonable price.
The mini shop arcade entrance to the restaurant does not reflect the true size of the place so do not let that put you off. We certainly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Excellent service,Delicious food,First class"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Best Indian food we have eaten for some time, The service and friendly staff are impeccable, You can tell this Restaurant is owned and run by the same family it shows in the quality of the food, We tried this Restaurant on a number of times and the food was quality every time,My Son and his Wife who are from Colorado were very impressed by this Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Followed up on previous reviews can only endorse their comments,best meal we had in Bowness
And we did try a view.Excellent location good friendly service food was really tasty obviously they have a chef who takes pride in his cooking,and I think Jak also is proud of his restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahib's also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Shahib's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahib's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.